TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,134 Reviews & Articles | 39,394 News Posts

StarTech.com USB 3.0 to SATA/IDE Adapter Review

StarTech.com USB 3.0 to SATA/IDE Adapter Review
If you have a mix of legacy and modern storage devices, the StarTech.com USB 3.0 to IDE/SATA adapter allows simple plug-n-play functionality.
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Sep 26, 2013 2:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: StarTech.com

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_99_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.png

 

StarTech.com specializes in designing and manufacturing and even selling a number of adapters converting one format to another along with a number of accessories to handle any need you may have. Today, we have one of their latest adapters in the form of a USB 3.0 to IDE/SATA converter.

 

This converter/adapter allows users the ability to connect up any 2.5" or 3.5" drive into a device which then allows access to the drives contents with the speed of USB 3.0. StarTech.com list compatibility with modern Windows operating systems, along with full Linux and Mac OS 8.6+. Warranty period for this adapter is set at two years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_02_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery includes the power adapter, which has both Molex and SATA power connections. In addition to this, there is an included SATA data cable and user manual.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_03_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.jpg

 

Looking over the adapter itself, we find everything packed into a convenient, small form factor. On the top there are several LEDs to indicate activity across each interface.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_04_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the unit has a 44-pin EIDE/PATA interface commonly found on 2.5" IDE drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_05_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.jpg

 

The top of the unit houses your standard 40-pin EIDE/PATA connection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_06_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.jpg

 

The end of the device houses the SATA connection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_07_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.jpg

 

Here we have attached our Corsair Neutron, to test the throughput capabilities of the unit.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_20_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.png

 

In our first test, running ATTO Disk Benchmark, we found the StarTech device capable of 268 MB/s read and 260 MB/s write. Now these are great numbers for such a simple device, but it does allude to the device not having a SATA III capable controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_21_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.png

 

CDM shared many of the same results with the StarTech reaching the same 268 MB/s read and 258 MB/s write.

 

The StarTech.com USB 3.0 to IDE/SATA adapter carries on the vision of what their business is all about, "hard to find made easy", enabling end users and business administrator to find what they need to enable their solutions. The unit carries a good depth of quality into it and at no time did I feel there were any corners cut in the manufacturing process.

 

Performance of the unit was ample, where we found plenty of storage throughput for any HDD and SSD for that matter. Where I would say there could be some improvement would be in the addition of a higher tier SATA controller, so we can get the true speed of USB 3.0 when using NAND flash devices.

 

Pricing at the time of writing is set at $53.99 with an included two year warranty. One thing is for sure with this device from StarTech.com, it enables true plug-n-play capability for legacy and modern storage devices, in one simple package.

 

TweakTown image 5/7/5762_1234_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/7/5762_100_startech_com_usb_3_0_to_sata_ide_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases