TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,029 News Posts

Kingwin EZ-Dock 2 USB 3.0 Docking Station Review

Kingwin EZ-Dock 2 USB 3.0 Docking Station Review

Kingwin offers tremendous value with its latest EZ Dock solution. Read on as we give it the usual testing treatment.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Sep 25, 2013 2:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Kingwin

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_99_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.png

 

As I have stated in past reviews, docking stations come in many flavours from many companies. From the popular BlacX line up from Thermaltake, in addition to the NexStar line-up from Vantec and more. Today, though, we will be looking at the latest from the equally popular EZ-Dock line-up from Kingwin in the form of the EZ Dock 2.

 

The EZ Dock 2 is one of the more unique docking stations in that it encompasses several additional features in comparison to what we normally find in a storage solutions such as this. Here we have RAID 0 and RAID 1 functionality in addition to JBOD and BIG modes, but by far one of the best features is the dock's ability to be a standalone drive duplicator. Compatibility extends as far as modern Windows operating systems, in addition to Mac OS X. Warranty is listed at one year.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_02_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the EZ Dock 2 includes the power adapter, USB 3.0 cable, user manual and of course the dock itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_03_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.jpg

 

A closer look at the dock reveals the open structure to the device, with support for both 2.5" and 3.5" drives. Towards the front you will find three status LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_04_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.jpg

 

The backside of the dock houses the USB 3.0 port, RAID control switches and power input and switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_05_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.jpg

 

In the photo above, we have setup two Corsair Neutron SSDs to test the duplication function of the dock.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_06_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.jpg

 

Coming back to the device about an hour later, we found the process had completed. Something of note here is, the drive we duplicated held a fully functional Windows 8 install. After which we booted in our test system and verified to be working.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_20_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.png

 

Above, in our first benchmark run of CDM, we have two Neutrons in RAID 0. In sequential we were able to touch 362 MB/s read and 427 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_21_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.png

 

RAID 1 offered ample performance, especially if you are using this unit with standard HDDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_22_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.png

 

Here we have single disk JBOD numbers. Here we found our single Neutron to perform quite well.

 

The EZ Dock 2 is the second generation of EZ Docks from Kingwin, and a rather fitting example of a full featured docking station. To date, I have seen quite a few docks roll through the lab, and this one sets itself apart in a number of ways. First is the additional RAID functionality, with the second being the cloning capability that works quite well when you need a standalone option or quick solution to the duplication process.

 

Another feature that stands out in my mind is the open construction of the device, where the dock lacks any type of eject button, it makes up for it with the ability to grab your drives by hand and swap them effortlessly.

 

Performance of the unit in all RAID modes was quite good, with RAID 0 topping out around 360 MB/s read and 420 MB/s write. RAID 1, while offering a bit of redundancy, also included a slice of performance equal to that of a single drive.

 

Pricing for the EZ Dock 2 at the time of writing is set at $27.99, and can be found at several online retailers.

 

TweakTown image 5/7/5761_1234_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/7/5761_100_kingwin_ez_dock_2_usb_3_0_docking_station_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below