TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,909 Reviews & Articles | 38,055 News Posts

Rosewill RSV-L4000 Rackmount Server Case Review - Rosewill RSV-L4000 Rackmount Case

Rosewill RSV-L4000 Rackmount Server Case Review

Today we're looking at the RSV-L4000 that's based on the same platform as the $199 Rosewill RSV-L4411, but costs less than $100. Let's take a look.

| Racks & Cases in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Sep 19, 2013 2:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Rosewill

Rosewill RSV-L4000 Rackmount Case

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_07_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The front locking cover is the same on all of Rosewill's 4u rackmount cases. The front door provides security for the system so the system can't be shut down or rebooted.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_08_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The front door has an air filter across the entire surface that is removable for cleaning. The filter is dense enough to keep the dust out, but porous enough to let air flow through nearly unrestricted.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_09_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look with the door open. The RSV-L4000 has two 120mm fans in the front and an additional three 120mm fans in the middle of the case to keep the inner components cool. Behind each front fan are four 3.5" drive sleds. You need to remove the whole fan assembly to access the drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_10_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The Rosewill 4u chassis ship predrilled for rails, but they are NOT included in the package. Newegg lists a Rosewill 3-section rail kit that is adjustable for length and uses ball bearings for the slides. The kit is $39.99.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_11_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis looks like any other steel ATX case on the market. Two 80mm fans exhaust air from the system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_12_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The PSU mount can rotate sides so the power supply can face either direction. Some PSUs have a large fan on one side, but the fan isn't always on the same side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_13_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

From the factory, the case ships with rubber feet on the bottom of the case. You'll take these off prior to putting the case in a rack, but the feet keep the case from scratching your desk during the system build.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5745_14_rosewill_rsv_l4000_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The handles are a longer than what we find on Supermicro and other rackmount cases. We found a couple reports where the handles were an issue with doors on racks. Most racks are adjustable, so you can maneuver the rails back if needed, but most people wouldn't want to do that on a rack that is already populated with systems.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases