TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,098 Reviews & Articles | 39,131 News Posts

Rosewill RSV-L4411 Rackmount Server Case Review - Rosewill RSV-L4411 Rackmount Case

Rosewill RSV-L4411 Rackmount Server Case Review
For most DIYers, the key to a good rackmount case is price, quality and the number of HDDs that can fit inside. Let's see if Rosewill offers this.
| Racks & Cases in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Sep 18, 2013 2:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Rosewill

Rosewill RSV-L4411 Rackmount Case

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_08_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The front locking cover is the same on all of Rosewill's 4u rackmount cases. The front door provides security for the drives as well as the power and reset button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_09_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The door also adds air filtration to the case. Air comes in through the front, passes over the HDDs and then moves to the back of the chassis to cool the CPU and PCie cards. The filter keeps dust out of the system and is removable for cleaning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_10_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the case with the door open. Of all of the rackmount cases Rosewill offers, I think the RSV-4411 would be the most popular given the high value. Adding 12 drive sleds to your existing case would cost nearly as much as this $199.99 case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_11_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

Two USB ports sit in the middle between the power and restart buttons. Four LEDs in the middle show system power, HDD activity and network activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_12_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

We've tested several drive sleds over the years and would put the Rosewill sleds in the middle of the pack as far as quality goes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_13_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

Electrically, the cages only support SATA drives and are not compatible with SAS drives. Here we also see the amount of space for air to pass over the drives and into the system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_14_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The sleds work with both 2.5" and 3.5" drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_15_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The Rosewill 4u chassis ship predrilled for rails, but they are NOT included in the package. Newegg lists a Rosewill 3-section rail kit that is adjustable for length and uses ball bearings for the slides. The kit is $39.99.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_16_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The handles are a longer than what we find on Supermicro and other rackmount cases. We found a couple reports where the handles were an issue with doors on racks. Most racks are adjustable so you can maneuver the rails back if needed, but most people wouldn't want to do that on a rack that is already populated with systems.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_17_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

The back of the chassis looks like any other steel ATX case on the market. Two 80mm fans exhaust air from the system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5742_18_rosewill_rsv_l4411_rackmount_server_case_review.jpg

 

From the factory, the case ships with rubber feet on the bottom of the case. You'll take these off prior to putting the case in a rack, but the feet keep the case from scratching your desk during the system build.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases