TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,926 Reviews & Articles | 38,177 News Posts

Toshiba 1TB SSHD (MQ01ABD100H) Review - Toshiba 1TB SSHD

Toshiba 1TB SSHD (MQ01ABD100H) Review

Toshiba offers up generous capacity with its 1TB SSHD, but is there performance to complement it? Let's dig in and take a close look. (TYO:6502)

| SSHDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 17, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Toshiba

The Toshiba 1TB SSHD

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5740_03_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abd100h_review.jpg

 

Our review sample of the 1TB Toshiba SSHD was delivered in bare drive form. Firmware is listed as revision AA10/AUF02A with a manufacture date of June 21st 2013. Further down the capacity is listed at 1TB with 8455MB of NAND flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5740_04_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abd100h_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses a teal colored PCB with the standard SATA connections.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5740_05_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abd100h_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connections are placed in position for wide compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5740_06_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abd100h_review.jpg

 

With our scale, we were able to weigh the Toshiba SSHD at 3.91 ounces, just 0.91 more than the smaller 500GB capacity drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5740_07_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abd100h_review.jpg

 

With our Starrett 799, we found the Toshiba SSHD to measure in at 9.25mm.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5740_09_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abd100h_review.jpg

 

Looking at the PCB, we find 32MB of DRAM cache manufactured by Winbond. In addition to this, the Marvell 9317 controls the platter portion of the SSHD, while the LAMD FSP controls the 8GB of Toshiba NAND, which is positioned at the bottom left.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases