TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,775 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review
Fractal Design's flagship power supply delivers plenty of power at a good price. Read on the see how well it performs under our tests.
| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 16, 2013 9:22 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Fractal Design

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_10_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

We get the red carpet treatment when opening the box. Just as it should be with anything you buy, the manual is presented up front. Fractal Design is also nice enough to let you know they include some cable management for you.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_11_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

For once we have packaging that is thought out, and isn't more cramped than a Ford Fiesta with four bodies in the trunk. Nothing shows any signs of damage despite the UPS drop test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_12_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top of the unit has the Fractal Design logo stamped in it and we can see the semi-gloss finish on the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_13_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

This side of the power supply features nothing more than the Fractal Design logo as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_14_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side is inverted and features the I/O specifications of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_15_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Flipping things to the back, we find nothing more than the standard honeycomb mesh grill with AC input and on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_16_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The front presents us with the modular connections, which are labeled nicely, and there is some extra venting as well. I'm not normally a fan of this, but as we transition from power supplies that do more with the daughterboard which has voltage regulation and more ripple suppression, it is becoming necessary to have somewhere for the extra heat to vent to.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_17_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The high contrast white fan is a nice touch to the unit to help it stand out. It is rubber mounted to reduce vibration and noise.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_18_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Included with the Newton R3 1000W is a rolled up bag of modular cables, cable ties and mounting screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5737_27_fractal_design_newton_r3_1000w_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the contents of the box is an AC input cable, user manual, and card stating that the fan will not spin until the unit gets hot enough to warrant its use.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases