TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,246 Reviews & Articles | 40,724 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Cougar PowerX 550-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Cougar PowerX 550-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply Review
Cougar's budget level power supply looks amazing and performs well for such a low cost unit. Let's dive in and take a close look at it now.
| 80 PLUS Bronze PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 12, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Cougar

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_10_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The PowerX series of power supplies certainly have some no frills packaging. Aside from the bubble wrap, little protects the unit from the outside world.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_11_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top is a blank slate and shows the black finish on half of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_12_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

This side gives us the I/O specification label and the beautiful red/orange metallic color in high gloss that covers the rest of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_13_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

This side of the power supply features nothing more than the Cougar logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_14_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The other side is inverted and features Cougar logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_15_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Flipping things to the back we find nothing more than the standard honeycomb mesh grill with AC input and on/off rocker switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_16_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The front presents is rather bland, but it does have a few vent holes for excess heat.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_17_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Normally I try to take a picture straight down, but I wanted to make sure I captured how the color changes depending on the angle and I think this is a very good representation of just how red and orange the unit can be at the same time. Present here is the 120mm fan that cools the PowerX 500W PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5734_18_cougar_powerx_550_watt_80_plus_bronze_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Included with the PowerX 500W is an AC input cord, four zip ties, mounting screws and user manual.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases