TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate Chassis Review

Phanteks delivers its first chassis design. Not only is it a full-tower, but it is one for enthusiast water coolers that offers a great design.

| Super-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 9, 2013 2:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 99%      Manufacturer: Phanteks

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_35_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and removed the front bezel just to give you a better sense of what is going on back there. When I removed the bezel, I noticed the latch to be able to remove the lower ventilated section of the bezel. This allows you to be able to easily clean the filter along with the pair from the floor of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_36_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once I completed the build, I wanted to show off both the drive and the removable section of the dust filter. Technically you do have full access to the fan screws to install a radiator in the front, but I would still pull the bezel to give yourself some working room.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_37_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

I did opt to install an air cooling based system to see how well the system cools as it is shipped from Phanteks. You may also notice that the HIS video card makes it so I had to remove both the steel plate and the plastic trim piece to allow it to fit correctly. I also really like that all you have to see is the main components, the rest of the system is hidden from view, even without the door on the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_38_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

Around the back of the chassis everything fits well, there are no issues with the chassis warping. I tried both PSU mounting positions, and they both have no issues accepting a PSU there.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_39_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since Phanteks goes through all the trouble to pre-wire the chassis, who am I to think I can do better? All I did was to loosen the ties and run my PSU wiring aright along with what is already there. There are also no issues with spacing here, as there is at a minimum 35mm of space.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_40_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the chassis is all back together, nothing has changed externally, well except for the view through the large window on the dies. I like this about cases, where everything is hidden, but I do need to bring up that the door on the front swings the wrong way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5726_41_phanteks_enthoo_primo_ultimate_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powering up the Primo there is also a blue trim line of LED that runs down the front and across the top, more of that Level 10-like styling to the design. Also at this point, I cannot hear the chassis running even with the five additional fans included with the chassis on top of my build components.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases