TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,228 News Posts

ASRock Fatal1ty H87 Performance (Intel H87) Motherboard Review - ASRock Fatal1ty H87 Performance Motherboard

ASRock Fatal1ty H87 Performance (Intel H87) Motherboard Review
We finally check out the new Intel H87 chipset via the ASRock Fatal1ty H87 Performance motherboard. Let's see how this well priced board performs.
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 7, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

ASRock Fatal1ty H87 Performance Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_06_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking above you can see the normal black and red color scheme, along with the Fatal1ty branding throughout the heatsink design. Let's move in a little closer, though, and see just what we're dealing with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_07_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Checking out the expansion slots, you can see we've got two PCIe x1 slots, along with three older PCI legacy slots. You can see we've also got two red PCIe x16 slots. One is a PCIe 3.0 x16 slot that runs at x16, while the other is a PCIe 2.0 x16 slot that runs only at x4.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_08_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom, you can see the normal connectors you'd expect on the left hand side. Looking over on the right you can see we've got six SATA connectors. All six of these connectors are SATA 3.0 and all run off the Intel chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_09_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the top of the board we can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector and next to that we have a USB 3.0 header. You can also see four DIMM slots. One of the main difference between the H87 and the Z87 is the RAM support on the H87 while still being 32GB is instead rated for speeds ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 1600MHz DDR. We see Z87 boards via overclocking go into the realms of 3000MHz+ DDR.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_10_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_11_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Checking out the CPU area you can see the 8-pin CPU connector at the top of the board. Moving back a little and looking at the CPU area, you can see that it's not that busy at all, with just a small heatsink seen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5725_12_asrock_fatal1ty_h87_performance_intel_h87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the I/O side of things, you can see a fairly standard setup with a PS/2 port and four USB 2.0 connectors. Video out options include DVI-D, VGA and HDMI. Along with that we also have a HDMI in port. Four more USB connections are seen, but these are all USB 3.0, while Gigabit networking is provided by the PHY Intel I217V chip. Finally we finish off with five auxiliary connectors and an optical out port which run off the Realtek ALC1150 Audio Codec and brings with it Purity Sound, a feature that combines a number of hardware and software features to make audio quality as good as possible.

 

Quickly before we move into the BIOS, though, we just want to quickly cover the main differences between the H87 and Z87 chipsets. There really are very few differences between the two chipset. One of the main differences is the RAM support which we mentioned earlier. The H87 goes to just 1600MHz DDR, while the Z87 via overclocking can exceed 3000MHz DDR.

 

We also lose support for multiple video card setups and multiplier overclocking, although, the latter, is not an issue at the moment as companies have offered the feature anyway. Intel have said they will be adjusting the Microcode, though, so it can no longer be done. Apart from those features, though, there's really not much that differs between the two chipsets.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases