TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,152 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Western Digital Red 1TB 2.5" HDD Review - Benchmarks - PCMark 8 Hard Disk Tests

Western Digital Red 1TB 2.5

Western Digital launches NASware 2.0 and the 2.5" form factor goes Red. Take a look as we extensively test the hard drive and see how it performs. (NASDAQ:WDC)

| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 3, 2013 12:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: Western Digital

PCMark 8 - Hard Disk Tests

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/pcmark8

 

 

PCMark 8 is the latest version in our popular series of PC benchmarking tools. Improving on previous releases, PCMark 8 includes battery life measurement tools and new tests using popular applications from Adobe and Microsoft. Whether you are looking for long battery life, or maximum power, PCMark 8 helps you find the devices that offer the perfect combination of efficiency and performance for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_63_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Overall storage score for the WD Red was 2139, just behind the latest Blue drive from WD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_64_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

In WoW, the Red was able to score 133.1 second, again just behind the WD Blue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_65_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Battlefield 3 landed the Red at 346.5 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_66_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Utilizing Photoshop under light use, the Red came in at 221.8 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_67_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

A heavy use scenario allows the Red to obtain a score of 499.3 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_68_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

The Excel application trace landed our drive just shy of the 25.4-second mark set by the latest WD Blue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_69_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

The PowerPoint workload allowed our drive to score slightly better than both Seagate drives in our charts at 27.1 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_70_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Lastly, the Microsoft Word application trace allowed our WD Red to take the lead for the first time, rendering a score of 49.6 seconds.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below