TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,206 Reviews & Articles | 40,145 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Western Digital Red 1TB 2.5" HDD Review - Benchmarks - PCMark 8 Hard Disk Tests

Western Digital Red 1TB 2.5
Western Digital launches NASware 2.0 and the 2.5" form factor goes Red. Take a look as we extensively test the hard drive and see how it performs. (NASDAQ:WDC)
| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 3, 2013 12:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Western Digital

PCMark 8 - Hard Disk Tests

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/pcmark8

 

 

PCMark 8 is the latest version in our popular series of PC benchmarking tools. Improving on previous releases, PCMark 8 includes battery life measurement tools and new tests using popular applications from Adobe and Microsoft. Whether you are looking for long battery life, or maximum power, PCMark 8 helps you find the devices that offer the perfect combination of efficiency and performance for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_63_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Overall storage score for the WD Red was 2139, just behind the latest Blue drive from WD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_64_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

In WoW, the Red was able to score 133.1 second, again just behind the WD Blue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_65_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Battlefield 3 landed the Red at 346.5 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_66_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Utilizing Photoshop under light use, the Red came in at 221.8 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_67_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

A heavy use scenario allows the Red to obtain a score of 499.3 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_68_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

The Excel application trace landed our drive just shy of the 25.4-second mark set by the latest WD Blue.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_69_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

The PowerPoint workload allowed our drive to score slightly better than both Seagate drives in our charts at 27.1 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5722_70_western_digital_red_1tb_2_5_hdd_review.png

 

Lastly, the Microsoft Word application trace allowed our WD Red to take the lead for the first time, rendering a score of 49.6 seconds.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases