TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,634 News Posts

Steiger Dynamics LEET HTPC Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Steiger Dynamics LEET HTPC Chassis Review

Steiger Dynamics may be a new company, but the impressive high-end LEET home theater PC chassis shows they definitely know what they are doing.

| HTPC Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 2, 2013 9:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: Steiger Dynamics

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_30_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

The first steps involved getting the Apogee Drive II on the motherboard, getting the board mounted to the tray, and I even threw in the video card at this point. Also, you want to notice that all of the front I/O wiring, minus the USB 3.0 cable, is already attached to the board, outside of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_31_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Because of how the motherboard sits under the radiator that goes here, you need to tend to the wiring and be sure it is out of the way. Also where most motherboards have the USB 3.0 by the 24-pin, due to the location of mine, I cannot use the USB 3.0 on this chassis, even with the adapter in line.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_32_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is why you must do a bit of planning and pre-wiring. Once the radiators are in, and the loop is plumbed, there is no real way to gain access to the bottom of your motherboard. The thing I love about this is that I can just unplug the mains from the PSU and remove the whole system for work or maintenance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_33_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since I do not own the proper sized drive for this build, I did go ahead and add the aluminum piece that would adorn the front of your drives drawer. This way you don't have the black face of the drive poking through - just more of that sexy aluminum.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_34_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

It is slightly hard to see, but as the build guide states, this should be set up as exhaust, and is why you are seeing bits of the stickers on the back of the fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_35_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Around back there is nothing to complain about with the fit of the components or even getting the tray back into the LEET chassis. Again I followed the guide and made the rear radiator an intake into the chassis, and this is why you can see the RPM sticker on this fan rather than the sticker with the brand on it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_36_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

Back inside of the chassis things are a bit more cramped, but even with the longer video card fan, I had no issues making it work. At this point all we need to do is get the lid on so I can power things up and get the screen software installed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_37_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

When power is applied and you boot the LEET chassis, there is a cool blue glow to the ring around the power button. The glow also continues into the IR receiver and makes it glow the same color.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5717_38_steiger_dynamics_leet_htpc_chassis_review.jpg

 

With this chassis, Steiger sent along the red LED kit to illuminate all of the hardware and cooling components. It lights up the dual radiator and video card on the left. The back of the chassis has lighting that floods the single radiator and most of the main section of the motherboard. The strip on the right shows off the PSU and floods the motherboard where the back doesn't get to.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases