TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,462 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GX Gaming Maurus X FPS/RTS Approved Gaming Mouse Review - GX Gaming Maurus X FPS/RTS Approved Gaming Mouse

GX Gaming Maurus X FPS/RTS Approved Gaming Mouse Review
GX Gaming sent in the Maurus X for testing, and let me just say on paper this optical mouse has everything most FPS gamers require, but is it enough?
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Sep 6, 2013 2:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 82%Manufacturer: GX Gaming

GX Gaming Maurus X FPS/RTS Approved Gaming Mouse

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_08_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The left of the Maurus X has a defined ledge at the bottom to rest your hand against during usage, and just above it is a large rubber insert to ensure a better grip too. Along the top edge you will find a button marked M1 which is page back by default.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_09_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The back of the Maurus X reminds me of a classic car with the tall roof and wide fenders sticking out the sides. Notice both sides are evenly shaped to allow for both right and left handed users to get the same exact experience from this mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_10_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right side of the Maurus X is exactly what we saw with the left side with one exception. On this side of the mouse the button at the top edge is noted as the M2 button, and is defaulted to the page forward function.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_11_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The grill work, as I will call it, is aggressive looking, and if the centers weren't blacked out, I would have thought this to be lighted as well, but it is not. It is also much easier to observe the concave shape of the top buttons to help keep your fingers where they need to be.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_12_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

At the top, between the right and left click buttons, there is a raised section of plastic that contains the scroll wheel and the DPI button. There are also the words Pro Game STYLE painted on the left click button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_13_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I wanted to also get the entire top of the mouse in one shot so that you could appreciate the aluminum red stripes down the sides, and to see the scorpion that has been painted on in grey. There is also the GX Gaming logo, this will later be illuminated.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_14_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Under the Maurus X you again have the Pro Game STYLE and the scorpion around the eye of the optical sensor which is centered well. GX Gaming also uses two feet to allow the mouse to glide on with a smaller one to the front and a much larger one used at the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5713_15_gx_gaming_maurus_x_fps_rts_approved_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Coming from the front of the mouse you will find 1.8 meters of cable that has been covered in cloth braided sleeving. Along with a gold plated USB 2.0 connection, Genius also adds a Velcro tie strap for the cable if you ever need to travel with your Maurus X.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases