TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,932 Reviews & Articles | 38,215 News Posts

Toshiba 500GB SSHD (MQ01ABF050H) Review - Benchmarks - PCMark 8 Hard Disk Tests

Toshiba 500GB SSHD (MQ01ABF050H) Review

Toshiba stirs up the market with its latest SSHD. The MQ01ABFH offers tremendous performance at a price point that's hard to ignore. (TYO:6502)

| SSHDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 5, 2013 2:12 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Toshiba

PCMark 8 - Hard Disk Tests

 

Version and / or Patch Used: 1.0.0

Developer Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com

Product Homepage: http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/pcmark8

 

 

PCMark 8 is the latest version in our popular series of PC benchmarking tools. Improving on previous releases, PCMark 8 includes battery life measurement tools and new tests using popular applications from Adobe and Microsoft. Whether you are looking for long battery life, or maximum power, PCMark 8 helps you find the devices that offer the perfect combination of efficiency and performance for your needs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_63_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

Overall storage score for our Toshiba SSHD came in at 2419.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_64_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

In WoW, the SSHD came in at 120.1 seconds, just behind the Seagate offering at 103.8.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_65_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

Battlefield 3 had the Toshiba SSHD coming in at 340.6 seconds, just behind the WD Slim and Seagate SSHD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_67_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

Utilizing Photoshop under light use, the Toshiba came in at 203 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_66_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

A heavy use scenario allowed the Toshiba drive 492.5 seconds, slightly ahead of the WD Slim and just behind the Seagate offering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_68_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

The Excel application trace allowed the Toshiba to close the gap between it and the Seagate offering. Here we found the Toshiba coming in at 18.5 seconds, just two seconds behind the Seagate Laptop Thin.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_69_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

The PowerPoint trace had our Toshiba again close to the Seagate drive at 16.8 seconds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_70_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.png

 

Lastly, the Microsoft Word application trace had the Toshiba coming in at 53.2 seconds.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases