TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,497 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Toshiba 500GB SSHD (MQ01ABF050H) Review - Toshiba 500GB SSHD

Toshiba 500GB SSHD (MQ01ABF050H) Review
Toshiba stirs up the market with its latest SSHD. The MQ01ABFH offers tremendous performance at a price point that's hard to ignore. (TYO:6502)
| SSHDs in Storage | Posted: Sep 5, 2013 2:12 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Toshiba

Toshiba 500GB SSHD

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_03_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

Our sample of the 500GB Toshiba SSHD was delivered in bare drive form. Listed on the drive is the manufacturing date of June 21 2013, followed by the capacity at 500GB and firmware AA10/ARF02A.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_04_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses a teal colored PCB with the standard SATA connections.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_05_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connections are placed in position for wide compatibility.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_06_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

With our scale, we were able to weigh the Toshiba SSHD at just over 3 ounces.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_07_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

Setting up our Starrett 799, we found the Toshiba SSHD to measure in at 6.73mm.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_08_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

Removing the PCB from the drive, we found the motor to use a set of four contact pins, with the drives head using an 18 pin clip.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5711_09_toshiba_500gb_sshd_mq01abf050h_review.jpg

 

Looking over the electrical component on the PCB, we find 32MB of DRAM cache manufactured by ESMT. Following this we also found the Marvell 9317 for controlling the platter portion of the drive, and the LAMD for the cache portion of the drive. Up top to the left there is 8GB of NAND cache.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases