TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,406 News Posts

Genius Speed Wheel 6 MT Vibration Feedback Racing Wheel Review - Genius Speed Wheel 6 MT Racing Steering Wheel Continued

Genius Speed Wheel 6 MT Vibration Feedback Racing Wheel Review
Genius brings forth a new racing wheel to the market and at a great price. Take a look at what the Speed Wheel 6 MT delivers for your game driving.
| Game Controllers in Peripherals | Posted: Sep 5, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Genius

Genius Speed Wheel 6 MT Racing Steering Wheel Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_16_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

Both sides of the cover have a chromed section applied that shows three spokes of a rim with black insets in the voids to make it appear more realistic. I have to give it to Genius - this thing looks really good.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_17_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

Under the SW 6 MT there are five suction cups that will grip very tight against glass or any other super smooth surface. So much so that when removing it, you think you are pulling way too hard to break the suction. I still suggest you use the provided clamps, if possible.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_18_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

There is two meters of plastic coated USB cable with a normal UBS connection on the end. I do like that they also added a Ferrite choke to eliminate any cross talk in this cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_19_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

Inside of the wheel all of the wires come together at this point. They also add some glue to the top to keep the vibrations it will make from shaking out these clips on accident.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_20_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

Under the gear shifter, you can see three red switches to activate the forward, back and side motion of the gear shifter. I did not remove them from the white nylon component, but if I had to guess, I would say these are TTC branded switches.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_21_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

As the base wraps around to the back, on the left side of the wheel, there is a port to connect the foot pedals via this phone jack style female connector.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_22_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

Internally, all of the major components of the wheel and its housing are made of nylon parts. While much lighter than steel components, and more forgiving that rigid plastic, with this design, there is little to go wrong, and the gearing is tight enough that they should not strip out on you over time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5708_23_genius_speed_wheel_6_mt_vibration_feedback_racing_wheel_review.jpg

 

As the wiring leaves the center of the column, you will find the vibration motor that uses a plastic leg to transfer said vibrations up to your hands. This is a larger sized motor, and when allowed to run at 100%, it delivers a realistic feel when you run off the road or hit a wall at 150 MPH.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases