TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,919 Reviews & Articles | 38,140 News Posts

Tt eSPORTS Poseidon Illuminated Mechanical Keyboard Review - Inside the Poseidon Illuminated Mechanical Keyboard

Tt eSPORTS Poseidon Illuminated Mechanical Keyboard Review

With a very bright blue illumination of the keys, Tt eSPORTS brings forth the Poseidon Illuminated to take on all other mechanical keyboards.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Aug 28, 2013 10:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Tt eSPORTS

Inside the Poseidon Illuminated Mechanical Keyboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_24_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With most of the keyboards I open, things go rather smoothly. This one, however, used a ribbon cable that has little room to fuss with it to separate the components. Not only will this void your warranty, but if you get things in the keys, shake it out - I don't recommend pulling this one apart to clean it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_25_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

When I looked at the PCB, there is a bit of flux residue left behind. I know we have seen cleaner offerings, but this makes no ill effects on its performance or usage, and it is highly likely that most of you will never see this anyways.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_26_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Thermaltake uses a 14 leg E LAN controller for communication purposes. There was no real need for a huge controller for what the Poseidon offers, so they used this 8-bit micro controller to take care of the business at hand.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_27_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Just so you know that Thermaltake wasn't skimping on one of the more important parts of any mechanical keyboard; the steel plate. It is solid and rigid, and definitely gives the switches a solid foundation to rest upon.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_28_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

When first powered with full illumination of the LEDs, I was surprised at the intensity. Not only are they bright enough to get through the opaque canters of the key caps, it also adds a nice blue glow on the steel plate that makes the keys look like they are floating.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_29_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The lighting does make the LEDs appear purple the further away from the keyboard you get, but I can assure you they are as blue as the sky. I also like the little battle dragon icon on the space bar, it is a nice touch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_30_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The right side of the layout is just as bright, but remember you have to option of four intensity settings. Another nice touch is that the lock LEDs are also blue, and completes the unified theme Thermaltake was going for with the Poseidon Illuminated.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5705_31_tt_esports_poseidon_illuminated_mechanical_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Now we can see the entire Poseidon illuminated keyboard as you would see it on your desktop. As I said, it is sleek and simple, straight to the point, and looks good doing it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases