TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,681 Reviews & Articles | 36,150 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive Review

SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive Review

The Wireless Media Drive from SanDisk offers robust portability in small form factor. Today we dive in and take a close look at it. (NASDAQ:SNDK)

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Aug 27, 2013 2:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: SanDisk

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_99_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

 

Today, we will look at the second part of our SanDisk Connect reviews. This time we have the SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive in the 64GB capacity.

 

The SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive is slim ultra-portable storage solution targeted at smartphone and tablet users that enjoy the ability to store, share and stream content on the go. In addition to the SD card slot, the SanDisk Wireless Media Drive comes with either 32GB or 64GB of embedded memory, and similar to the Wireless Flash Drive, the Media Drive creates its own wireless network with a range up to 150 feet. SanDisk warranties the Wireless Media Drive for a period of one year.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_02_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.jpg

 

Included in the package, the SanDisk Media Drive comes with a USB cable and AC wall adapter for charging.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_03_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.jpg

 

The front of the Media Drive houses the power button to the right with a set of three LEDs to indicate activity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_04_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.jpg

 

The right side of the Media Drive houses the SD card slot.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_05_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive houses the mini USB plug for charging the device.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_06_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

 

Installation of the application on our Android tablet was straight forward. Upon connecting and launching the application, we were greeted with this splash screen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_07_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Upon launching the application we were warned our Media Drive battery life was diminishing, a useful feature on the go.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_08_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

 

The settings menu of the Media Drive app allows you to setup and change the admin password along with internet setup and firmware upgrading.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_09_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

 

Here we have the ability to select multiple files and upload to the Media Drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_20_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

 

The SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive is formatted in the exFAT file system, with 57.7GB of useable capacity.

 

Upon receiving our review sample of the Wireless Media Drive, we first had to charge it, a process that took about 2.5 hours with the included AC adapter. Taking the device down to the 10 percent seen in this review took about seven hours. The SanDisk Wireless Media Drive does deliver similar functionality when compared to its sibling product such as the Wireless Flash Drive, with the added benefit of embedded memory and the additional ability to augment the memory size by adding a SD card.

 

The Android application we used on our tablet worked quite well, but it was puzzling to see two separate apps used within one product family. However, streaming video was no issue and the device was able to maintain the signal, even when I moved outdoors.

 

Pricing of the SanDisk Wireless Media Drive in the 64GB capacity is set at $99.99 and $79.99 for the 32GB capacity. Interestingly enough, this puts the SanDisk Media Drive is perfect position, with similar products such as the Kingston MobileLite coming in at $69.99 as an empty device.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5696_1234_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5696_100_sandisk_connect_wireless_media_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below