TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,683 Reviews & Articles | 36,173 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Lexar Professional 64GB XQD Memory Card Review

Lexar Professional 64GB XQD Memory Card Review

A new memory card technology emerges in the form of XQD. Lexar sent over its 64GB Professional XQD for review. It's got amazing speed and price. (NASDAQ:MU)

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Aug 23, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Lexar

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_99_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.png

 

Back in 2010, SanDisk, Sony and Nikon announced a joint adventure that would create a new memory standard for HD camcorders and high-res DSLR cameras. This new standard would use the PCIe interface for data transfers, allowing for data rates up to 500 MB/s with storage capacities touching 2TB.

 

This storage medium as we now know it is called XQD, and to date only Sony and Nikon use it in their high-end products (Nikon D4 and Sony XDCAM). In July 2012, Lexar announced that they would support the new format, and today we bring you the Lexar Professional 64GB XQD memory card in review. Marketing specifications of the XQD card call for a minimum sustained read of 168MB/s. Included with the XQD card, Lexar offers a free copy of Image Rescue 4. The 64GB XQD comes with a lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_02_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The Lexar Professional XQD shares most of its aesthetic design with previous Professional products from Lexar.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_03_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The backside of the card is covered with a brushed aluminium plate that houses the manufacturer information.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_04_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

For size comparison, I lined up the Lexar XQD next to the SanDisk SD and Compact Flash cards. Here you will find XQD shares the height of Compact flash and the width of the traditional SD card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_05_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

To aid in the review process, Lexar was kind enough to send along their latest XQD card reader.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_06_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The front of the reader houses the XQD port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_07_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

At the back, you will find the USB 3.0 port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_09_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Here we have the XQD card inserted into the card reader from Lexar. One thing worthy of noting is XQD uses the push lock system that we are familiar with from SD cards.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

To test the capabilities of the Lexar Professional XQD card, we first installed the companion card reader through the native USB 3.0 ports on our Intel Z77 testbed. For benchmarking we used ATTO and CrystalDiskMark.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_20_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.png

 

The Lexar Professional 64GB XQD is formatted in the FAT32 file system, and carries 59.6GB of useable capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_21_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.png

 

ATTO allowed for the Lexar to reach reads speeds upwards of 197 MB/s, with write speeds coming in at 125 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_22_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.png

 

CDM on the other hand had write speeds slightly quicker at 143 MB/s, while read speed remained steady at 190 MB/s.

 

There is no doubt that XQD is the next generation of flash memory solutions for DSLR cameras and HD camcorders, but the market adoption truly depends on devices that will utilize this new form factor. With Lexar coming out with the Professional line-up of XQD cards there is no better way, in my mind, to showcase the technology.

 

Build quality, as always, is top notch and backing this up Lexar adds in performance of 200MB/s, something have yet to see from any other memory format. As the saying goes, "build it and they will come," and Lexar has certainly done that with the Professional XQD card, adding value to this you can pick up the XQD reader for an additional $44.99 at many retailers.

 

At the time of writing, I was able to find the Lexar Professional 64GB XQD card at a few online retailers for a price of $399.99. As with any new technology it comes at a price, and we can certainly see the premium here.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5691_1234_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5691_100_lexar_professional_64gb_xqd_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below