TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,687 Reviews & Articles | 36,219 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

ICYDOCK FlexCage MB974SP SATA Backplane Module Review

ICYDOCK FlexCage MB974SP SATA Backplane Module Review

ICYDOCK adds USB 3.0 to its latest FlexCage storage solution with the MB974SP. Let's dive in and take a close look at it.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Aug 22, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: ICYDOCK

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_99_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.png

 

The ICYDOCK brand has been around for quite a few years, and there is no doubt many of you would have heard of the brand at one time or another. Over the years they have increased their reputation by offering useful storage solutions catering to all type of builds and users preferences.

 

The MB974SP we have in house today for testing is targeted towards a wide audience from professional storage, such as servers to the enthusiast users, looking for a way to manage storage in a simpler fashion. Additionally, the MB974SP allows for front panel connectivity of USB 3.0 devices via the internal header. ICYDOCK warranties the MB974SP for a period of three years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_02_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.jpg

 

The front of the FlexCage houses four tool-less drive bays actuated by a switch that's tucked away behind each drive pull. To the left, we found two USB 3.0 ports, along with power switches for each bay. Looking towards the bottom, a fan control switch has been placed conveniently.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_03_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.jpg

 

The backside of the FlexCage houses the two SATA power connectors that supply power across all four drive bays. Additionally, to the right side, we found the USB 3.0 cables to be thin, allowing for easier cable management when putting your build together.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_04_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.jpg

 

Here you can see each of the four SATA ports, all compatible with the SATA 6GB/s standard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_06_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.jpg

 

On the top of the FlexCage you will find a diagram of the electrical layout.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_07_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.jpg

 

Internally, each bay of the FlexCage is tool-less and made of aluminium.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

To test the capabilities of the ICYDOCK FlexCage, we utilized our Corsair Neutron 256GB SSD on our Intel Z77 chipset based motherboard. Benchmarks of choice were ATTO Disk Benchmark and CrystalDiskMark.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_20_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.png

 

ATTO presented us results on par with what we find if our drive was connected directly to our SATA 6GB/s port - that is to say we found no loss of performance by installing our drive in the FlexCage.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_21_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.png

 

CDM results were similar to what we found with ATTO. We were able to reach speeds of 530 MB/s read and 441 MB/s write.

 

The ICYDOCK FlexCage has quite a few points where the unit really excels. The overall build quality is quite exceptional, using materials such as aluminium for the frame and durable plastics aiding the aesthetics. Adding to the build quality is automatic temperature control, independent drive power switches and the addition of the front panel USB 3.0 connections.

 

With all of that there are a few places I feel ICYDOCK could improve the product. The first being the bay doors that seem to misalign themselves, and perhaps the addition of a second hinge on each door would improve on the design. Another place you could find yourself in a conundrum is the space the unit takes up in the build. Don't get me wrong here, the FlexCage does offer the ability to install four 3.5" drives in just three 5.25" bays, but if you're working inside a chassis with space restrictions, the rear mounted fan does tend to force itself into the motherboard area.

 

Performance of the unit was top notch and offered no loss in performance when compared to connecting our drive directly to our SATA 6GB/s port.

 

At the time of writing, I was able to find the FlexCage MB974SP available at many online retailers for a price of $109.99.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5689_1234_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5689_100_icydock_flexcage_mb974sp_sata_backplane_module_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below