TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,634 News Posts

Buffalo MiniStation Thunderbolt 1TB HDD Storage Enclosure Review

Buffalo MiniStation Thunderbolt 1TB HDD Storage Enclosure Review

Buffalo joins the Thunderbolt movement with the MiniStation storage enclosure. It also includes USB 3.0 if that's what you prefer.

| Thunderbolt in Storage | Posted: Aug 22, 2013 6:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Buffalo

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_99_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

With the invention of the Thunderbolt interface, portable storage solutions have begun to transition allowing for increased performance, and even more than what we saw from USB 3.0. The Thunderbolt interface allows for users of Macintosh computers the much needed increase in external storage speed, when previously being stuck on the aging Firewire interface.

 

The latest external storage solution from Buffalo, dubbed the MiniStation Thunderbolt, takes ample storage capacity ranging from 500GB to 1TB, and adding both USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt connectivity. Compatibility of the unit extends from Mac OS X 10.6+ and Windows Vista, 7 and 8. Buffalo warranties the MiniStation Thunderbolt for a period of three years.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_02_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the MiniStation extends as far as including both a USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt cables in white.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_03_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

At the back of the enclosure we find both the USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt ports.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_04_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The only brand identification on the enclosure is found on the side of the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_05_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

Internally, we found the MiniStation to use the Samsung Momentus hard disk drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_06_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The front side of the PCB houses the ARM Cortex LPC1114 50MHz microcontroller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_07_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.jpg

 

The back side of the PCB houses several controllers including the ASMedia1061 PCIe to SATA 6GB/s bridge, along with the Intel DSL2210 Thunderbolt controller.

 

To test external storage platforms, I utilize two of the most well-known and respected benchmark applications. ATTO Disk Benchmark is the first and is recognized as the industry standard for marketing specifications. Through DiskBench, we offer real-world testing as it offers a custom data set that can be controlled by the user. For our testing I use a 10GB directory of mixed data that includes, pictures in both the RAW and JPEG file formats, AVCHD video and documents in both the XLS and DOC formats.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_20_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Buffalo MiniStation Thunderbolt is formatted in the NTFS file system, carrying 931GB of useable capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_21_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

In ATTO testing using the Thunderbolt interface, we found the MiniStation capable of 116 MB/s read, followed by 117 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_23_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

Utilizing the MiniStation's USB 3.0 interface, the drive ended with the same results as we found with Thunderbolt, although the drive was able to get to the top speed much quicker through Thunderbolt.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_24_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

 

In our DiskBench testing, we found the Buffalo MiniStation capable of 105 MB/s transferring our 10GB directory with the Thunderbolt interface. Comparing this to the drive using the USB 3.0 interface, we find a 4MB/s difference in overall capability. This puts the device near the top of our chart, just behind the two WD Passport drives.

 

The Buffalo MiniStation Thunderbolt combines both an aesthetically pleasing design with its use of aluminium for structure and durable plastics to aid in cost, with next generation technology in the form of the Thunderbolt interface.

 

Performance of the MiniStation was on par with expectations when we compare it to other drives in the USB 3.0 market space. DiskBench testing had the drive as one of the quickest in our charts, slightly behind the drives from WD. On the Thunderbolt side, Macintosh users will truly enjoy the speed increase of last generation devices.

 

At the time of writing, I was able to find the Buffalo MiniStation Thunderbolt in the tested 1TB capacity at several online retailers for $179.99.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5688_1234_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5688_100_buffalo_ministation_thunderbolt_1tb_storage_enclosure_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases