TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,804 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

ASUS ROG Maximus VI Impact (Intel Z87) Mini-ITX Motherboard Review - ASUS Maximus VI Impact Motherboard

ASUS ROG Maximus VI Impact (Intel Z87) Mini-ITX Motherboard Review
Does a Mini-ITX board deserve the ASUS ROG tag? There's only one way to find out - let's check out the tiny, yet feature-packed Maximus VI Impact. (TPE:2357)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 21, 2013 3:42 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: ASUS

ASUS Maximus VI Impact Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_11_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the board you can see it's that typical small Mini-ITX format and ultimately we get a good idea of just what's going on with the board from this view. We'll move in a bit closer, though, and start to look at everything in more detail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_12_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking across the bottom of the board, you can see we've got the standard single PCIe x16 slot. On the left side of this, though, we have something that we're not used to seeing normally with two other connectors being present.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_15_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving in a little closer you can see the two connectors a little bit closer. These are for the SurpremeFX Impact and the mPCIe Combo II card. We'll take a closer look at both these connectors with the cards installed when we get to the I/O department.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_13_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we turn the corner you can see we've got a fair bit going on with the right side of the board, with the standard two DIMM slots which support up to 16GB of DDR3 ranging from 1333MHz to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. Here you can see four SATA III ports behind, while in front we've got a USB 3.0 connector on the left followed by a Start Button, main 24-pin ATX power connectors and 8-pin CPU power connector. The 8-pin connector is a rarity as we tend to see Mini-ITX boards offer only 4-pin.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_14_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Around the CPU area you can see that ASUS has opted for a setup that's different to what we've seen from other companies. The Impact Power system sits in a card like style and includes an awesome looking heatsink which under sits BlackWing Chokes and 10K Black Metallic Caps. By using something like this ASUS has a higher quality power system that takes up more room than a Mini-ITX board would normally allow. The end result is belter quality power and still plenty of room around the CPU area.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_16_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

While you normally head over to the I/O side of things and don't find anything too exciting, the same can't be said about the Maximus VI Impact's I/O area. We've got a number of standard features including DisplayPort, HDMI, optical out, four USB 2.0, four USB 3.0, eSATA and Gigabit networking. What really stands out, though, is the additional card on the left that's inserted between the video and USB 2.0 connectors. On here we have an LED debug readout, BIOS reset button, ROG Connect, Direct Key and MemOK!.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5686_17_asus_rog_maximus_vi_impact_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

If we install the two additional cards, the SurpremeFX Impact and mPCIe Combo II card, you can see that we get three auxiliary plugs thrown into the mix. The Combo II card doesn't add anything else to the I/O connectivity, but you can see just how it sits when installed.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases