TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,157 Reviews & Articles | 39,563 News Posts

Icy Dock MB982IP-1S-1 Review - Tested with Toshiba 12Gb/s SSD - Icy Dock MB982IP-1S-1

Icy Dock MB982IP-1S-1 Review - Tested with Toshiba 12Gb/s SSD
The Icy Dock MB982IP-1S-1 is a high quality 2.5" to 3.5" SAS drive bay converter that allows for easy conversion of a SAS drive.
| Accessories in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Aug 19, 2013 10:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Icy Dock

Icy Dock MB982IP-1S-1

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_05_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The front of the cardboard package shows images of both the SAS and SATA versions of this product. Icy Dock has a whole range of solutions for customers, and there are both plastic and metal versions available for typical SATA usage.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_06_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The rear of the package highlights the specifications of the converter.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_07_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The drive bay slides out in a bubble wrapped envelope. Once unpacked, we find the converter, instruction pamphlet and the screws necessary for securing the converter into the case. The converter does not require any fasteners for installation of the drive into the converter itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_08_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The case is attractive, sturdy and made of high quality steel. With the rugged and high quality construction, it is surprising that the case is so light, weighing in at a mere .72 pounds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_09_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The front of the converter has a plastic button that when pushed releases the top of the case. We also observe the slots on the top and front of the case that allow for excellent thermal dissipation characteristics.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_10_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

Flipping the case over reveals the SAS connection that is compatible for all versions of SAS, including the ultra-fast 12Gb/s SAS that we are testing with today. We also note another set of ventilation slots on the bottom of the case as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_11_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The other end of the case also has a long row of ventilation slots, allowing airflow through the converter to cool the drive located inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_12_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

Once the case is opened, we can observe the PCB. This provides a straight-line connection through to the drive. There are no chips or logic devices placed between the drive and the SAS connection, enabling the converter to provide pure performance with no impact.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_13_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

Looking from another angle reveals the internal SAS connection, nestled underneath a guide rail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_14_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

The SSD fits nicely into the converter, but leaves a large gap above the SSD. This is due to the SSD being only a 7mm design. The converter fits all drive thicknesses up to 15mm.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5682_15_icy_dock_mb982ip_1s_1_review_tested_with_toshiba_12gb_s_ssd.jpg

 

As we close the case over the SSD, we can see that the thin curved metal strips will hold the SSD in the case firmly. These strips create what Icy Dock refers to as Smart-Fit technology. This system works beautifully, securing the SSD into the case snugly, without damaging the surface of the drive. The snug fit protects against vibration in multi-drive deployments, and compresses enough to hold the wide range of drive sized supported by the Icy Dock.

 

The installation of the drive does not require any fasteners, which is bonus when deploying a large number of converters. Another key aspect is the sliding action of the converter. As the lid of the Icy Dock closes, the drive slides forward and mates to the SAS connector. This easy method works smoothly and without issue. On cheaper converters, we have suffered from broken SAS and SATA connections due to misaligned connectors. The Icy Dock provides one of the smoothest actions we have experienced with this type of solution.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases