TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,936 Reviews & Articles | 38,247 News Posts

OUYA - the Android-powered Console Review

OUYA - the Android-powered Console Review

Can the Kickstarter-funded, $99, Android-powered OUYA console change gaming? Not yet.

| Editorials in Gaming | Posted: Aug 13, 2013 10:19 pm
TweakTown Rating: 60%      Manufacturer: OUYA

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5676_09_ouya_the_android_powered_console_review.jpg

 

I backed the OUYA close to day one on Kickstarter, back in July of 2012. Fast forward to July 2013, and we're here with a review on one of Kickstarter's most successful devices.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5676_20_ouya_the_android_powered_console_review.jpg

 

OUYA is from the mind of Julie Uhrman, who raised millions on Kickstarter to get the Android-funded console to the market. After months and months of waiting, it's finally here, but it really isn't what I expected.

 

If you're expected a glorious, positive-filled review, you might want to close your browser tab, because I'm not that impressed. I've read some other reviews on OUYA, which were positive, but there just isn't much to talk about when it comes to OUYA.

 

 

Specifications, Pricing and Availability

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5676_18_ouya_the_android_powered_console_review.jpg

 

For just $99, you do get a decently powerful Android-based console. First off, we have an NVIDIA Tegra 3 quad-core processor, 1GB of LPDDR2 RAM, 8GB of on-board flash storage, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, Bluetooth LE 4.0, and HDMI to connect to your TV (or display).

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5676_05_ouya_the_android_powered_console_review.png

 

Moving onto the controller specifications, we have a single wireless controller included in the OUYA box, which works on 2.4GHz RF. The controller itself includes the "standard game controls", which consist of: two analog sticks, d-pad, eight action buttons and a system or 'OUYA' button.

 

The controller is quite easy to open up to install the AA batteries. I would've preferred to have had a rechargeable controller, but I'm sure the team at OUYA were just trying to keep the costs down, and not supplying rechargeable lithium-ion batteries would definitely be a cost-saver.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5676_14_ouya_the_android_powered_console_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5676_15_ouya_the_android_powered_console_review.jpg

 

Moving into the final piece of the specifications: Software. We have Android 4.0 running on the OUYA console, with a custom TV user interface. It looks great, it's sleek and easy to navigate, too. There's an integrated custom game store included as well. You can root the OUYA without voiding warranty, as the OUYA team are happy for you to mess around with their Android-powered device.

 

I do wish I could run standard Android apps from the Google Play Store on OUYA, as that would've opened up a gigantic door for the company. Locking themselves to just OUYA titles, really hurts.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Gaming content at our Gaming reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases