TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,000 Reviews & Articles | 38,738 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Scythe Grand Kama Cross 2 CPU Cooler Review - Scythe Grand Kama Cross 2 CPU Cooler

Scythe Grand Kama Cross 2 CPU Cooler Review

In the market for a large down flow CPU cooler? Scythe is offering exactly that with the new Grand Kama Cross 2.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 17, 2013 6:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Scythe

Scythe Grand Kama Cross 2 CPU Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_07_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I know it was likely just cover art, but I do notice that the pipes coming from the base are not nickel plated as the box shows, but there is a full stack of fins on either side to take the heat even if the pipes do tarnish over time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_08_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From this angle, you can see the way the pipes bend and shift at the bottom to make it through the fin stack after crossing the other pipes in the middle. After they have all the fins pressed on to the pipes, they add a black fan support piece and then cap off all four pipes for a cleaner look.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_09_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back of the cooler is identical to the front image. The 36 fins on either side are perpendicular to the fan to take on the air flow, but in these three sections of the array, the fins are bent and it redirects the air outward and down at the motherboard for added cooling benefits.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_10_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Just like with the other side, the fins are pressed on, but all of the pipes are offset to the left. This allows room for the X-Structure. Also it is noticeable that the fan uses screws to secure the fan rather than clips, making cleaning the cooler inside of a case just a little bit easier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_11_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

From the top of the SKC2, you can see that the fan makes the 140mm measurement for the north and south orientation, and the pipe caps make the 171.21mm of width left to right. With the black steel brackets and this fan, the entire top of this cooler is covered by the fan, and it should offer good results.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_12_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I removed the four screws and flipped over the fan so that the model number and power requirements were visible. This 4-pin PWM powered fan with its sickle shaped blades will push quite a bit of air through those fins.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_13_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since the fan was out of the way, I thought I should show the six sections of the fins from the top as well. This allows for more fin surface area in some sections, while in others it offers more room for the fans air flow to gather a head of steam before it enters the fins.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_14_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I am a bit surprised to see that even thought there are some tight bends made, even as the pipes exit the base, these pipes are still rounded and don't have the tell tale kinks of other pipes we normally see in designs like this. That means that the vapor inside can travel much easier, hence upping efficiency.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_15_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base is comprised of two pieces. There is the bottom plate which is nickel plated copper, but the top half appears to be extruded aluminum. At the top of the base you will see four tabs standing to give the cross bar of the H.P.M.S. system a place to grab onto the cooler and solidify it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_16_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As the pipes enter the base there are some large gaps to fill. I think I see the slightest remains of some solder on the third pipe from the left as the means of contacting the base components with the pipes. This is yet another step to try to increase the efficiency of the thermal transfer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5674_17_scythe_grand_kama_cross_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The base is milled in a spiral pattern, but the base is left flat against the razors edge. Of course the surface has slight deviations in it from the milling, but nothing that would do any issues to the thermal results or the spreading of thermal paste.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases