TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,212 Reviews & Articles | 40,209 News Posts

HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 Enterprise HDD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 Enterprise HDD Review
HGST's Ultrastar 7K4000 is a 3.5" 7,200 RPM Enterprise-class HDD geared for cloud storage, massive scale out, RAID arrays and NAS. Let's take a look. (NASDAQ:WDC)
| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Aug 16, 2013 10:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: HGST

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_11_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The HGST Ultrastar 7k4000 flies high with the heavy read workloads with an average of 216 IOPS at QD256, a great start that sets the tone for the majority of our tests.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_12_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 rises above in this test by averaging 211 IOPS and beating the competition. The Toshiba MG03ACA400 averages 199 IOPS in comparison to the Seagate V.6 with 205 IOPS at QD256 in our 4K write testing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_13_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The 7K4000 manages to beat both of the other 7,200 RPM HDDs with its mixed read/write workload performance across the board. This is stellar performance in mixed read/write workloads.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_14_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The HGST 7K4000 best the competition by providing 33,009 I/O's (53.92%) at 100-200ms, and 15,250 I/O's (24.19) in the 200-400ms range. The 7K4000 provides a mixed bag, with a higher distribution of I/O falling into the less desirable 200-400ms range than the competitors, but also a very good showing with the latency range dropping as low as 4-6ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_15_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256. The HGST 7K4000 pulls a frugal 8.48 Watts during the measurement window.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_16_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5673_17_hgst_ultrastar_7k4000_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The HGST HDD delivers an average of 24.4 IOPS per Watt for 4K random writes, and 23 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read access.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases