TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,075 Reviews & Articles | 39,015 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Audiofly AF56 Premium In-Ear Headphone Review

Audiofly AF56 Premium In-Ear Headphone Review
We have some new headphones in from Audiofly for review known as the AF56, which are part of the lower price bracket, but great bass is no problem.
| In-Ear Headphones in Audio, Sound & Speakers | Posted: Aug 15, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Audiofly

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_18_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Audiofly are a relatively new company to us, as we have only seen one product from them before. However, we are impressed with what we have seen so far, and are quite keen to see what else is on offer from Audiofly. The market is flooded with many different kinds of ear phones, promising to deliver all kinds of differing forms of merriment to the user, but what the majority of consumers want the most of all is of course sound quality.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_02_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

And a product that can offer good value for money is always a good thing and is especially important when dealing with such a competitive area of the market. On the surface at least the AF56 looks to have plenty to offer the casual user who might want a pair of ear phones to use with an iPod or something similar. Having a look a little deeper at the AF56 and we can see some of the key features that make for quite an interesting offering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_04_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Firstly of interest here is the custom voiced dynamic driver which is 13mm big and provides a balanced and crisp sound right throughout the audible spectrum, according to Audiofly. Most are aware by now that matching a driver correctly with the enclosure that it will find itself in forms an integral part of making a great sounding audio product.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_24_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Noise isolating design element allows for the ear phones to be correctly matched with the user's ear for the perfect fit. This is done by using a selection of different rubber ends, which can be matched to suit the size of the given user's ear. We noticed this trend emerging a little while ago and are pleased to see it continue as all users have different ear sizes and providing only a single diameter rubber end piece is somewhat limiting.

 

An Audioflex cable is also used and features a Kevlar reinforced core with CORDURA brand nylon outer that provides great strength and durability. A durable storage tin is also included with a plush velvet lining that is great when taking to the road and wishing to keep the AF56 in the same condition you left them in when you took off.

 

Clear talk is another feature included in the AF56 by Audiofly and essentially what it does is offer clearer talk by separating the Mic from the control button, and we feel it's a great idea.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_27_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

The first thing that we notice when looking at the spec sheet for the AF56 is how similar some of the figures are to the higher-end AF78, which we can only see as being a good thing - such as the machined anodized alloy housing with precision laser cut acoustic optimization. What this means in every day terms is that the core of the unit is a sturdy and precise piece of engineering that will be a solid platform for the rest of the components.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_25_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Further on and we have a custom voiced dynamic 13mm driver that is claimed to have great bass response and is a little larger than the driver featured in the AF78 system. A streamlined sound port is also used in the design of the AF56 and what this does is allow for a smoother channel for sound waves to flow through with less chance of sound deviating along the way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_08_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Overall we have a good solid design made from high quality materials using a sound manufacturing process to deliver what looks like being a good overall product. We think that Audiofly have done plenty to convince the buying public they are serious about their audio products and we think they have done a great job.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

The Audiofly AF56 overall sounds really nice with some fantastically tight and tuned bass that really sounds impressive for the small size of the ear phones and the fact that they are, well... ear phones - this is headphone level bass we are hearing! In fact, we can report that we have heard more than one set of headphones that do not sound as good low down as the AF56 and of course that is a big credit in Audiofly's design.

 

After picking the right sized piece for my ear from the included batch, the fit and feel inside of the ear is also great and as I listen now while typing, I can barely tell there is even anything inside the ear, which is really a big thing and so it should be in such a competitive market with so much choice.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_11_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Testing of music was an overall very pleasing experience using the AF56. We found that over a variety of different types of music that the AF56 sounded equally balanced and crisp. Testing was conducted across an iPhone 5 and a Windows 8 computer system using a variety of different music that tests each area of sound.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_21_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

Again, we had some small issue with the pre amp level on the iPhone 5 being annoyingly low as we found with the AF78 last time. It feels like an Apple problem to us and one we wish they would resolve it when they finally deliver iOS 7 later this year. However, as we would expect, when testing through the Windows 8 system, we found gain levels to be perfect with no issues whatsoever.

 

Looking a little more closely at the high-end firstly and things sounded really quite good in this area. It has enough fierce bass being produced.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_26_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

The mid-range was where it needed to be with a nice balance much like the high-end. And everything seeming to be working together nicely. We had no real issue with how the mid-range sounded and were pleased overall. The low-end as we have mentioned above is really impressive with a good amount of low-end extension offered by the 13mm driver inside, and also some very tight and clean tuning to allow the driver to work at its best.

 

We feel that if you do listen to a lot of bass heavy music this ear phone solution would be quite well suited for you. Only a few years ago we would have felt odd recommending ear phones to lovers of bass heavy music, but we don't now, not with the improvements in technology, like as seen in the AF56.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5671_01_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.jpg

 

The Audiofly AF56 offer an exceptional level of performance in a little package, especially for lovers of bass, who will really enjoy the careful tuning done by Audiofly. We really did not find anything during testing that came to bother us. Perhaps, and this is a little issue, the cable is just a little too short. Overall though, a well built and comfortable ear phone solution that should go the distance and provide thumping low-end along the way.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5671_1234_audiofly_af56_premium_in_ear_headphone_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Audio, Sound & Speakers content at our Audio, Sound & Speakers reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases