TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,916 Reviews & Articles | 38,115 News Posts

Seagate Enterprise Capacity Constellation ES.3 Enterprise HDD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

Seagate Enterprise Capacity Constellation ES.3 Enterprise HDD Review

Seagate's Enterprise Capacity Constellation ES.3 hard disk drive offers a solution for high capacity requirements and 24x7 bulk data storage. (NASDAQ:STX)

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Aug 14, 2013 2:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Seagate

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_11_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Constellation ES.3 leads the pack easily with an average of 190 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_12_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The ES.3 falls into a slightly higher performance envelope than the competing solutions and with less variability, averaging 205 IOPS at QD256 in our 4K write testing. The Western Digital SE trails closely behind with an average of 198 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_13_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The Constellation ES.3 outperforms the other HDD's in this test, and exhibits excellent speed in the read heavy percentages.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_14_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The Constellation ES.3 edges out the other competitors with the best latency, providing 59,892 I/O's (98%) at 100-200ms, and the remaining 1219 I/O's (1.99%) in the 200-400ms range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_15_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256. The Constellation ES.3 averages 8.84 Watts, well below the Toshiba offering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_16_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5662_17_seagate_enterprise_capacity_constellation_es_3_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The Constellation ES.3 delivers an average of 26 IOPS per Watt for 4K random writes, and 24 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read access.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases