TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,076 Reviews & Articles | 39,020 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will offer first-person mode on foot, and in vehicles on PC

Zalman CNPS2X Mini-ITX CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Zalman CNPS2X Mini-ITX CPU Cooler Review
Want a bit of style, even though you have no extra room for the CPU cooler? Zalman may have your answer with the CNPS2X super low profile CPU cooler.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 14, 2013 6:30 am
TweakTown Rating: 76%Manufacturer: Zalman

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_21_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Just like I explained in the hardware section, you are going to need to set in the threaded nut and place the retention clip over it. Keep in mind, for both AMD and Intel, the bar is folded down, and you slide the nut in from the bottom. The clips will not work of the back plate is flipped.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_22_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Align the nuts of the back plate with the retention holes. Since there are holes drilled on both ends, this plate will go on either way, end to end. The loading block is installed to add some space, making the cooler much snugger, and uses more pressure on the IHS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_23_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Going back to the cooler, I needed to install the Intel mounting legs. The only thing to keep in mind here is to make sure the legs get put on with the tabs bending away from the fins. It is going to be near impossible to install if these are reversed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_24_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once you apply some TIM to the IHS of the CPU, set the cooler into place, and grab the gold screws to mount the cooler to the back plate. These screws are only threaded so far up the shaft, and you continue to screw them in until the thread stop and you cannot screw them in any further.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_25_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When I said this cooler is super low profile, I wasn't joking in any shape, way or form. As you can see, or rather it is what you cannot see over the memory that is impressive. Zalman really does offer a solution to go where not many other coolers can go.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_26_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I also mentioned that since the fan takes are in through the center and blows out in all directions around its diameter, it should offer a fair amount of air flow to the heat sinks that surround the socket, helping to cool more than just the CPU in the very tight confines of some Mini-ITX cases.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5660_27_zalman_cnps2x_mini_itx_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Stepping back away from the motherboard, you can now see the CNPS2X in all of its sexy copper colored glory. There definitely is not going to be any issues with getting to the 8-pin plug or sticking in whatever memory you want, we just need to get to the testing and see what this is capable of.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases