TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,789 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

ROCCAT Kone XTD Max Customization Gaming Mouse Review - Inside of the Kone XTD

ROCCAT Kone XTD Max Customization Gaming Mouse Review
The Kone from ROCCAT makes another appearance. Let's see what has changed in just over a year that gives this Kone mouse the XTD moniker.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Aug 13, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: ROCCAT

Inside of the Kone XTD

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_23_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After locating and removing four screws, I was able to separate both halves of the Kone XTD. Inside of the top of the mouse there is a blue PCB that controls the activity of the pair of buttons on the left side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_24_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

In that PCB there is a pair of Kaith switches. This is the first I have even seen them used, and information via Google is pretty limited. These are much softer to actuate than Omron's and most other switches as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_25_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The lower section is even more involved with what it contains, so get a good look at the orientation of things as we spin around this much closer in the next few images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_26_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The left click button is backed with an Omron D2FC-F-7N, and I believe these are rated to five million key presses. On the side of the Titan Wheel you see a TTC switch is being used to track the roll of the wheel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_27_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The right click is also backed with the same Omron switch, but rather than using a similar switch type for the tile and click of the Titan Wheel, you can see that ROCCAT went with plastic pad type switches for that.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_28_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

After literally removing the Titan Wheel from the mouse, you gain access to a view of the MCU shipped in the XTD. This STM32 F1 series processor runs at 72MHz and offers 32-bit channels, along with housing its own onboard memory.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_29_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Behind the scroll wheel, but just in front of the weight compartment, the Avago ADNS9800 laser sensor is attached to the PCB. This is one of the top offerings in laser sensors and offers up to 8200 DPI, if you think you can handle a mouse at that speed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_30_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

When you plug in the mouse, even without the software, you still are given the default light pattern. What that does is to pulse the lighting bars on for a five count, and then off for a count. As this pulsation is going, the coloration is also changing in a slight variation of the last color shown, and progressed through the full color scale.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_31_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Spinning the mouse around to get another angle to look at, the coloration has also progressed to purples and pinks. I also appreciate the shiny wider strip at is plays against both the matte finish and the LEDs that are now showing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5659_32_roccat_kone_xtd_max_customization_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

I just wanted yet another shot of the Kone XTD, but I thought the logo being present to give you an idea of what you will walk up to at your desk is important, as that is when we actually see the mouse most. Also the colors progressed more, and we are now into greens and yellows.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases