TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,984 Reviews & Articles | 38,651 News Posts

Seagate 1.2TB Enterprise Performance 10K v7 Enterprise HDD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

Seagate 1.2TB Enterprise Performance 10K v7 Enterprise HDD Review

The Seagate Enterprise Performance 10K v7 is a 10,000 RPM SAS HDD designed for mission critical server applications. Let's take a close look. (NASDAQ:STX)

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Aug 9, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Seagate

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_11_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Seagate Enterprise Performance 10K v7 scores very closely to the 10K v6 with an average speed of 410 IOPS at QD256, a minimal loss to the 10K v6, which averaged 414 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_12_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The 10K v7 averages 365 IOPS at QD256 in our 4K write testing, again within range of the 10K v6 with its average of 368 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_13_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The Seagate Enterprise Performance 10K v7 scores nearly perfectly in line with its predecessor, and exhibits similar performance consistency.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_14_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

The Seagate Enterprise Capacity 10K v7 trades blows with the 10K v6, with a slight tendency towards a higher latency range.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_15_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256.

 

The Seagate 10K v7 averages 6.88 Watts, an incremental increase of .72 Watts over the 10K v6.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_16_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5655_17_seagate_1_2tb_enterprise_performance_10k_v7_enterprise_hdd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The Seagate 10K v7 delivers an average of 52.5 IOPS per Watt for 4K random writes, and 47.6 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read access.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases