TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,465 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z87N-WIFI (Intel Z87) Mini-ITX Motherboard Review - BIOS

GIGABYTE Z87N-WIFI (Intel Z87) Mini-ITX Motherboard Review
Another Mini-ITX board arrives. This time it's the Z87N-WIFI from GIGABYTE using the Z87 chipset. It's small, affordable and not lacking in features. (TPE:2376)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 8, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

Heading into the BIOS on the GIGABYTE Z87N-WIFI you can see that we're using the new UEFI BIOS design from GIGABYTE, which we love. It's a really big improvement when compared to the 3D BIOS that was used on the last generation of boards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_13_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_14_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_15_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_14_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_15_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_16_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

As always, if you're heading into the BIOS, you'll be more than likely wanting to hang around the Performance section, which offers us all the standard overclocking features.

 

In the past we used to always jump into Classic Mode to do overclocking on GIGABYTE motherboards, because it was just so much easier. However, the latest UEFI design is great to use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_17_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_18_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_19_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_20_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_21_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving past the performance section you can see all the standard options are on offer. As we mentioned above, though, if you're going into the BIOS, you'll more than likely be spending most your time in the performance area.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5653_22_gigabyte_z87n_wifi_intel_z87_mini_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

Hitting F2 you can jump into Classic Mode, but as we mentioned above, the new UEFI design is really fantastic, and the desire to jump in here isn't nearly as great as it was before when we used the older 3D BIOS.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases