TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,672 Reviews & Articles | 36,054 News Posts

Antec HCP-850 Platinum 850-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Cabling Arrangement and A Look Inside

Antec HCP-850 Platinum 850-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review

We haven't seen an Antec PSU in our labs for some time, but today we get acquainted with the High Current Pro HCP-850 Platinum 80 PLUS model.

| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 7, 2013 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Antec

Cabling Arrangement

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_19_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.png

 

Antec has stepped up the game a little bit here in the cable selection department. The PCI-E cables being available in different lengths are a very nice addition and some of it is due to how they have configured the 12V rails. Aside from the dual CPU connectors, there are six PCI-E, nine SATA, six Molex and a single FDD connector available for use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_20_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.png

 

The way the four 12V rails are set up are totally up to the user with the exception of 12V1. It must power the peripheral devices. The rest depend on what the user wants to do because of the use of the 16-pin connectors. Let's look at the front of the power supply again to explain this a bit more.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_14_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As you can see, each of the 16-pin connectors are powered by two different 12V rails. What makes this so special is that there are 8-pin and one 16-pin connectors that can be used to pull power from these. This means that you can choose to use 12V1 to power the 24-pin Main connector and 12V2 for the CPU power or you can swap them the other way as well. In the same token, you can also split the rails that power each individual video card if you wish. It really offers an unparalleled flexibility with the 12V rails and lets the user configure them to specifically fit their needs.

 

 

A Look Inside

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_21_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Inside the unit we find that the HCP Platinum is a complete redesign. You can tell by the design of the unit and lack of significant heat sinks that the unit is meant to run cool from the start.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_22_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

A pair of Nippon Chemi-Con bulk capacitors sit on the primary side of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_23_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The secondary side is littered with a bunch of Nippon Chemi-Con caps.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_24_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Antec chose to cool the HCP-850 Platinum with the Delta AFB1312M 135mm fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_27_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Something that we don't normally see are additional heat sinks on the daughterboard for the modular connectors, but they are certainly present here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below