TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,460 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Antec HCP-850 Platinum 850-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Antec HCP-850 Platinum 850-Watt 80 PLUS Platinum Power Supply Review
We haven't seen an Antec PSU in our labs for some time, but today we get acquainted with the High Current Pro HCP-850 Platinum 80 PLUS model.
| 80 PLUS Platinum PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 7, 2013 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Antec

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_10_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

As expected from Antec, everything is well packed inside the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_11_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Antec houses the I/O specification label on the top of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_12_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides of the HC-850 Platinum feature the same logo with it being inverted on the other side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_13_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The back doesn't feature anything out of the normal. Aside from the normal honeycomb mesh grill, you will also find the AC input and on/off switch back here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_14_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The front features all of the modular connectors. All of the connectors are well labeled, but it can be a bit confusing if you don't know what you are looking for. This is because all of the 12V power is supplied via 16-pin connectors of which I'm relatively sure even we haven't seen before. They are simply 8-pin connectors side by side, as we'll see in a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_15_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The 135mm fan inside the HCP-850 Platinum is covered by a black wire mesh grill on the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_16_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All of the modular cables are fully sleeved.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_17_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

It isn't unusual to see black wires in place of color coded wires. Antec has taken things a step further to use black striped cables, but the stripes are very subtle so as to help hide cables, but allow them to be easily identified when needed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5651_18_antec_hcp_850_platinum_850_watt_80_plus_platinum_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the contents of the box is the AC input cord, Velcro cable ties, mounting screws, a user's manual and warranty card.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases