TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,071 Reviews & Articles | 38,994 News Posts

Supermicro C7Z87-OCE (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - Supermicro C7Z87-OCE Motherboard

Supermicro C7Z87-OCE (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
With a strong name in the server environment, we see how Supermicro goes with its new consumer orientated Z87 motherboard, the C7Z87-OCE. (NASDAQ:SMCI)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 1, 2013 2:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Supermicro

Supermicro C7Z87-OCE Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_06_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Above we get a good overall idea of what's going on here, but let's move in closer and check out everything in more detail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_07_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking above you can see the expansion side of things. We've got three PCIe x4 slots that run at x1, along with three PCIe x16 slots. As always, these don't run all at x16. If you're using just the top slot, your card will run at x16. If you use the top two slots, both will run at x8. If you use all three slots, they will run at x8 / x4 / x4 - this is all very standard for Z87 motherboards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_08_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the bottom of the board, you can see the standard line up of connectors that you'd expect to see. Towards the middle of the board and slightly up, you can see a LED debug readout, while the right side of the board is a little busier. Here we've got three buttons that move to preset overclocks. Two are already done, while the third can be saved by you. You can also see next to these we have a USB 3.0 connector.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_09_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA III ports on offer with six running off the Intel Z87 chipset and the other two running off the ASMedia ASM1061 chipset. We can also see another look at the USB 3.0 header and the overclock buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_10_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading north on the board, you can see four DIMM slots supporting up to 32GB of DDR3 at speeds ranging from 1600MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking. You can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector, along with a second USB 3.0 header, and a small onboard speaker next to it. We've also got a number of fan headers floating around this part of the board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_11_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_12_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the CPU area you can see the main 8-pin CPU power connector and the socket itself. Supermicro opted for a simple heatsink, much simpler than anything else we've seen from the Z87 line up of boards we've tested so far. The small heatsink means we've got a huge amount of room around the CPU area.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5645_13_supermicro_c7z87_oce_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the I/O side of things, there's nothing too out of the ordinary. We've got two USB 2.0 ports, along with four USB 3.0 ports. Video Out options include HDMI, DVI and VGA and you can also see a Thunderbolt port is on offer. Networking includes two gigabit ports - one runs off the Intel i217V, while the other runs off the Intel i210AT controller. Finally we finish up with the audio outputs which include five auxiliary plugs and an optical out port all running off the Realtek ALC1150 HD codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases