TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,100 Reviews & Articles | 39,139 News Posts

Seagate Slim Portable 500GB Hard Disk Drive Review

Seagate Slim Portable 500GB Hard Disk Drive Review
Seagate, with its Dashboard software and Slim Portable, offers the best "Bang for your Buck" in portable backup solutions. (NASDAQ:STX)
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Aug 6, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Seagate

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_99_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

When looking for a portable backup solution, there are certainly no shortage of products to fit your needs. If we look back at just a few of our reviews here at TweakTown, you will find products from Western Digital, ADATA, and Angelbird just to name a few. Today we look at one of Seagate's latest, the Slim Portable in the 500GB capacity.

 

The Slim Portable carries on Seagate's recent branding change, where we saw the Barracuda turn in the Desktop HDD and Momentus into Laptop HDD. Here we have what was once called FreeAgent turn into Slim Portable, all of this branding change allows end users to easily choose the drive they need, without the fuss of digging through marketing material to find out what they want and need. The Slim Portable carries a thin 10mm form factor with a weight of just 150 grams. At this time, a single capacity is offered at 500GB, with a two year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_02_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.jpg

 

Unpacking the Slim Portable, we found the drive to come with all documentation to get started. Additionally, we have the USB 3.0 cable and the drive itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_03_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.jpg

 

Our sample was delivered in the silver-brushed aluminium design. Seagate also offers this drive in black if that is your cup of tea.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_04_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.jpg

 

The backside of the drive offers model identification.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_05_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.jpg

 

Internally, Seagate has chosen to use the Momentus Thin hard disk drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_06_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.jpg

 

Instead of using a fully custom PCB, which we saw with product from WD, Seagate chose to use the ASMedia 1053, one of the best storage controllers on the market today.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_07_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.jpg

 

With the specifications for this drive claiming a weight of 150 grams, we just had to justify that claim. Surprisingly we found the drive weighs much less, only 123 grams.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_15_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

Like competing products, Seagate too has its very own backup software. To begin using the Seagate Dashboard, we selected the protect feature.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_16_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

Here we choose what types of files we want to backup, and clicked the checkmark to begin the procedure.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_17_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

Selecting the share feature from the main menu, you will find the option to upload media to Facebook, Flickr and YouTube.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_19_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

While software from competitors use existing cloud services like Dropbox, Seagate has chosen to manage its very own cloud service with the help of Nero.

 

To test external storage platforms, I utilize two of the most well-known and respected benchmark applications. ATTO Disk Benchmark is the first and is recognized as the industry standard for marketing specifications. Through DiskBench, we offer real-world testing as it offers a custom data set that can be controlled by the user. For our testing, I use a 10GB directory of mixed data that includes, pictures in both the RAW and JPEG file formats, AVCHD video and documents in both the XLS and DOC formats.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_20_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

The Seagate Slim Portable is formatted in the NTFS file system, carrying 465GB of useable capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_21_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

In ATTO testing, we found the Slim Portable to reach 106 MB/s read, followed by 107 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_23_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

 

Above our chart reflects real-world file transfer testing. Here the Slim Portable came in just under 102 MB/s, right behind the Passport EDGE and quicker than competing products from ADATA.

 

The Seagate Slim Portable takes the concept of portable storage to highest level. Here we have a truly slim drive that offers no sacrifice in terms of performance. With the build quality at a top tier level, we find material such as brushed aluminium and durable plastics securing our drive.

 

Performance is on par with competing products and even higher in some respects. Our ATTO testing showed the drive capable of 107 MB/s in both read and write, making that system backup a ten minute job, rather than hours.

 

At the time of writing, I was able to find the Seagate Slim Portable for an astounding $59.99 at several online retailers, making this one of the most affordable backup solutions to date.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5641_1234_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5641_100_seagate_slim_portable_500gb_hard_disk_drive_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases