TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,431 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Theron Infrared Gaming Mouse Review - Software

Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Theron Infrared Gaming Mouse Review
The Theron makes a return for Thermaltake and Tt eSPORTS, just this time it is sporting a new infrared optical sensor. Let's take a look.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Jul 31, 2013 2:10 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: Tt eSPORTS

Software

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_31_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

This is the main window of the Theron Infrared software. You see five profile options across the top where each can be set individually. Over the image of the mouse you can see two modes, and on the right side of the window is where you gain access to the controls.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_32_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

The light options tab is a bit misleading. In reality you can only turn the full light on and off with this mouse. Tt eSPORTS do offer the section light option, but no matter what profile or variation I tried, it is always on and cannot be changed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_33_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

The performance tab allows you to set the four levels of the DPI settings for each profile. You can also adjust the double click speed, cursor speed and the lines skipped with the scroll wheel. The bottom allows you the ability to change the polling rate up to 1000Hz as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_34_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

The Macro tab will allow you to program whatever you want. Since there is a default Macro key, you could open something and use it for your favorite game commands, whatever you can think of can be created in this system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_35_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

This is the screen that pops up when you click on the battle mode button. I find the information provided is pretty self-explanatory as to why someone would want to use this mode versus the standard lighting.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_36_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

Once you pick a button on the left of the main menu, you are then given the option to use the default command, to assign them. In the T Key mode you are give the way to install a Macro to whatever button you are working with. It also allows you settings for its rate of use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_37_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

The S Key section allows you to reconfigure the mouse with just the default offerings. So, in essence, you can reverse the mouse or swap the DPI and side buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_38_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

The L Key section when pressed will pop open the Program Files (x86) folder so that you can find the exe and point the software to it. As you can see in my example, I set the right click to start Pandora.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5636_39_thermaltake_tt_esports_theron_infrared_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

There is also a Lift Off Distance tool that you can download. I found the default LOD was set very high for my mouse pad, the Ladon, but as I used other pads, I needed to raise it again to make the mouse function the same on the various surfaces. This is a handy tool to have if you need to lift the Theron IR.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases