TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,198 Reviews & Articles | 40,001 News Posts

SanDisk ImageMate AIO SDDR289 Memory Card Reader Review

SanDisk ImageMate AIO SDDR289 Memory Card Reader Review
SanDisk offers the ImageMate AIO in a space saving design fit for any desktop. Let's take a look at this new memory card reader. (NASDAQ:SNDK)
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Jul 31, 2013 10:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: SanDisk

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_99_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

In this day and age, card readers have evolved into all types of form factors, some even built into OEM PCs. Now that we have successfully migrated to USB 3.0, transferring files from our memory cards to our PCs has evolved as well.

 

SanDisk, being an industry leader in flash memory technology, has released the next generation of all-in-one card readers dubbed the ImageMate AIO. The ImageMate supports all modern memory card types including microSD, SD, Compact Flash, MS and MMC. For SD technology, SanDisk has incorporated support for UHS-I cards and Compact Flash UDMA7 compatibility for maximum performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_02_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

Arriving at my doorstep, the ImageMate was packaged in a plastic tray.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_03_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

After removing the package contents, we have a three-foot USB 3.0 cable, magnetic stand for the card reader and of course the ImageMate itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_04_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

Setting the ImageMate on its included stand, you can get an idea of its space saving design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_05_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

The front of the card reader houses slots for MS, SD and Compact Flash memory cards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_06_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

On the top side of the AIO, you find the microSD slot.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_07_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

Looking at the back of the card reader, we find the USB 3.0 connection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_08_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

The bottom of both the card reader and stand house a magnet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_09_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

Here we found the SanDisk label embossed into the plastic housing.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_10_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

For testing card readers, I utilize memory cards from SanDisk's Extreme line-up. These cards utilize the latest technology for their respective format.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_20_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

For comparison, I was able to grab another card reader I had handy, the Vantec CR935. Above you will find the results of testing our 16GB SanDisk Extreme CF card in each reader. Here we found the SanDisk reader to excel in each test over the Vantec reader.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_21_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

Secure Digital produced similar results with the ImageMate being the quicker reader in sequential read and write speeds.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_22_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

Results were even across both readers in microSD testing.

 

With the ImageMate AIO, SanDisk has created a unique space saving card reader fit for any desk. Supporting all current formats, the SDDR-289 takes the latest technology and combines it into a single device that is aesthetically pleasing.

 

Another area the ImageMate excels is performance. With its USB 3.0 interface, the ability to transfer images and video to your PC finally happen at the full speed of the attached memory card. Additionally with UHS-I and UDMA7 support, you can rest assured this card reader won't go out of style anytime soon.

 

Currently SanDisk offers the ImageMate AIO for the low price of $24.99. Included in this is top-tier support and a warranty of two years.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5635_1234_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5635_100_sandisk_imagemate_aio_sddr289_memory_card_reader_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases