TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,058 Reviews & Articles | 38,953 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD Review - Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD

Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD Review
Wrapping up our coverage of the Samsung 840 EVO today, Chris looks at the new 750GB capacity size. The new 750GB EVO is priced to compete with many other's 512GB class products, but delivers higher capacity and amazing performance. (KRX:005930)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 25, 2013 4:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_06_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Samsung went with a new color palette for the EVO - the orange is gone, and matte gray and black are in.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_07_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

A few product details are on the back of the retail package. Our sample at the bottom shows that this is a review sample and not for sale or distribution. The full on retail drive may list something else on the bottom sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_08_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The bare drive version has a little more than just the bare drive. You receive two paper manuals, a software disk and two stickers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_09_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Samsung 840 EVO. All five drives look the same on the front.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_10_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The label on the back shows the capacity as well as the model and serial numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_11_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 840 EVO, like the 840 and even 830 before it, is a 7mm Z-height drive, so it will fit in many existing and soon to market ultrabooks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_12_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors, as well as the mounting points, are the same with 7mm as any other 2.5" HDD or SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_13_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Our first peek inside the drive shows us that Samsung used a smaller than 2.5" PCB for the 840 EVO 750GB. The 250GB PCB was close to half this size.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_14_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Samsung makes the MEX controller, low power DRAM and 19nm TLC Toggle flash chips.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5630_15_samsung_840_evo_750gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 750GB capacity size uses eight flash packages in all, four on each side.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases