TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,225 News Posts

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD Review - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD Review

Our three-part Samsung 840 EVO launch day coverage continues. In this article, Chris looks at the 250GB capacity size and runs the drive through several benchmarks to see how it compares to other 256GB class SSDs. (KRX:005930)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 25, 2013 12:44 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 840 EVO 250GB

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_06_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Our 840 EVO 250GB sample arrived in the Basic Kit (bare drive plus software disk). The box and color scheme remind me of another EVO product, the Ducati 848 EVO Superbike in matte black. Not a bad look and the reference is fitting. The 840 EVO plays the role of mid-level to the 1198 Superbike, like the EVO plays mid-level to 840 PRO. I'd say someone in Samsung's marketing department is a fellow Ducati rider.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_07_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

A few product details are located on the back of the package as well as the package contents.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_08_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the package we found the drive, two paper manuals, the software disk and two Samsung Activated stickers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_09_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the new 840 EVO. Like Samsung's previous two consumer SSD generations, the EVO uses a 7mm z-height for increased compatibility with new ultrabooks, notebooks and desktops with an optional (Desktop Kit) adapter bracket.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_10_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the drive information is on the back of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_11_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm z-height standard uses the same mounting points as 9.5 and 15mm drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_12_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

SATA power and data connectors are also in the same location as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_13_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There will be a few surprises today and this is the first. The 250GB 840 EVO uses a very small PCB with a controller, a low power DRAM chip and only two NAND packages, one on each side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_14_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

I have to admit I was surprised to see this configuration myself. Nearly every component on the PCB is marked Samsung.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5629_15_samsung_840_evo_250gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

It's interesting the details we started noticing after purchasing a thermal imaging camera. The controller is the hottest component on the PCB and flash is sensitive to heat. It loses endurance as the temperature increases. Samsung placed the other NAND flash package on the opposite end of the controller.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases