TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,676 Reviews & Articles | 36,078 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Transcend Ultimate 16GB Compact Flash Memory Card Review

Transcend Ultimate 16GB Compact Flash Memory Card Review

Transcend offers ample capacity and blazing 1000x speed with its Ultimate line-up of Compact Flash memory cards.

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Jul 26, 2013 10:08 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Transcend

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_99_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

 

If you are in the market for the ultimate in compact flash memory, today we have a treat for you. Aimed at the digital professional, Transcend's latest line-up of Compact Flash cards aims to please with its 1000X speed rating.

 

In house today, we have the latest in Compact Flash technology, out of the stables at Transcend. The Ultimate Compact Flash carries a rather impressive speed rating of 1000x, which means read speeds up to 150MB/s. Even further, the Transcend Ultimate Compact Flash cards carry a video performance guarantee, enabling quality video recording without dropping frames. The Ultimate line-up of Compact Flash cards is available in 16GB, 32GB, 64GB and 128GB capacities. For our review today, Transcend sent over the 16GB capacity card model.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_02_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Above we have the scope of delivery, which includes the warranty card, Transcend product guide and 16GB Compact Flash inside its usual protective casing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_03_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking over the card, we find the UDMA7 and 1000x speed ratings listed above the capacity, set at 16GB. In the lower left corner, the video performance guarantee logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_04_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The back of the card allows for labelling the card for storage.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_05_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The interface used on the Transcend Ultimate is a Type I 50 Pin.

 

To test Compact Flash cards we utilize the same benchmarks we use for Flash Drives. These include CrystalDiskMark, ATTO and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the SanDisk ImageMate AIO.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_20_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

 

Our first look over the card shows its storage capacity of 14.9GB formatted in the FAT32 file system.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_21_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

 

Running the Transcend through ATTO netted us 151MB/s read, followed by 125MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_22_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

 

Results with CDM were similar to what we found with ATTO. Sequential read and write coming in at 150MB/s and 123MB/s, respectively. Random read and write followed at 65MB/s read and 20MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_23_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

 

In our chart above, we have for comparison several cards from competing manufacturers. Above you will notice the Transcend in the 16GB capacity slightly faster than the Lexar Professional in the 128GB capacity; this could be due to the use of Toggle Mode NAND compared to the Micron MLC in the Lexar. Another thing to note is the difference in write speed between 667x and 1000x, about 20MB/s.

 

The Transcend Ultimate Compact Flash is as visibly appealing as a memory card can get, with its rainbow and gold tones. The flashy exterior of the card should be plenty to catch your eye in a retail situation.

 

Performance of the Transcend Ultimate was on par with what I expected in terms of read performance, where we did hit marketing specs of 150MB/s. On the write portion of testing, I was a bit surprised by the performance, where marketing guaranteed 70MB/s, we were able to surpass that by quite a margin - 120MB/s. We can also add here that with capacity increases, we can expect write speeds to increase, so it is quite possible that Transcend has figured out the formula for the quickest 1000x rated Compact Flash card.

 

At the time of writing, I was able to find the 16GB capacity for $63.99. If you would like slightly more you will be looking at $222.99 for the 64GB and $406.99 for the 128GB capacity. Transcend offers a lifetime warranty with each capacity.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5621_1234_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5621_100_transcend_ultimate_16gb_compact_flash_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below