TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,634 News Posts

SanDisk Extreme 64GB microSDXC Memory Card Review

SanDisk Extreme 64GB microSDXC Memory Card Review

The latest out of the SanDisk camp puts excellent speed and capacity into the microSDXC form factor. Let's take a close look. (NASDAQ:SNDK)

| Memory Cards in Storage | Posted: Jul 23, 2013 4:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: SanDisk

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_99_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Many of us connect to the world through our smartphones. Daily tasks such as checking email, visiting your favourite websites and even listing unwanted items on eBay can all be achieved with the swipe of a finger. With the rapid growth of the smartphone and tablet markets, these devices have also taken more steady roles as our cameras and camcorders. One such example of this is Nokia's unannounced Lumia 1020, which is said to have a 41-megapixel camera. Therefore, today SanDisk has taken the next step in microSDXC technology offering the end-user tremendous speed without sacrificing capacity. All rolled up into one memory card, the SanDisk Extreme 64GB microSDXC.

 

Early this morning, I received my review sample of the card in question here today. Marketing specifications, while branding this card the fastest in the world, suggest it is capable of 80MB/s read and 50MB/s write. SanDisk also goes on to say this card is compatible with all mobile OS's and features a Class 10 and UHS Class I speed rating.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_02_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Seen above, our sample was delivered in a black box with the SanDisk name embossed in the lower right corner.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_03_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Upon opening the box, we were greeted with a full complement of accessories. To the left we find a macro and fish eye lens and the memory card and adapter to the right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_04_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Removing the foam from the box, we found instructions for mounting the lenses to your smartphone or tablet along with all the necessary mounting accessories.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_05_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Here, I have mounted the fish eye lens to my Lumia 822.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_06_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking over the card, we see it packaged in its usual plastic retainer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_07_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

The card itself carries on the same gold and red scheme of previous Extreme products. At the bottom of the card we have markings for its capacity, at 64GB and UHS I speed rating.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_08_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.jpg

 

Looking at the backside of the microSDXC card, we find it using the standard 8-pin layout.

 

To test Compact Flash cards we utilize the same benchmarks we use for Flash Drives. These include CrystalDiskMark, ATTO and DiskBench. The card reader utilized in these test is the SanDisk ImageMate SDDR 289.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_20_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

Our first look over the card shows its storage capacity of 59.4GB formatted in the exFAT file system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_21_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our ATTO testing, we found the Extreme 64GB microSDXC capable of 95MB/s read, followed by 61MB/s write. This puts the card well above marketing specifications of 80MB/s read and 50MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_22_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

CDM showed similar results. We were able to achieve 95MB/s read and 60MB/s write in sequential testing. Random read and write speeds were also quite good at 77MB/s and 33MB/s, respectively.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_23_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

 

In our chart above, we find the SanDisk Extreme 64GB microSDXC sitting well above the competing product from Patriot Memory, in-fact we have a full 20MB/s separating the two cards in AVCHD testing.

 

This new addition to the SanDisk Extreme line-up is aesthetically pleasing as all its siblings, with the gold and red design. The addition of the lenses for your smartphone or tablet adds another dimension to the overall experience, allowing you to capture unique fish eye photos of your favourite landscapes or even a macro shot of that bee buzzing on the flowers in your garden, all while on the go with your smartphone.

 

Performance of the 64GB capacity was really good. In our ATTO testing, we managed to achieve well over marketing specifications, and the same can be said for CrystalDiskMark. DiskBench write testing put the new 64GB microSDXC on the shelf next to its SDHC and microSDHC counterparts, cementing the SanDisk brand in our charts.

 

At the time of writing, I was not able to find any retail availability, but as this card was just launched a matter of hours ago, we should start to see them pop up on stores shelves very soon. If we go by the pricing reflected in the press release, then you will be looking at $59.99 for the 16GB model working your way up to $199.99 for the 64GB capacity, which we tested here today, and all of which are covered by SanDisk's lifetime warranty.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5608_1234_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5608_100_sandisk_extreme_64gb_microsdxc_memory_card_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases