TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,916 Reviews & Articles | 38,116 News Posts

NZXT Phantom 530 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

NZXT Phantom 530 Mid-Tower Chassis Review

If the Phantom 630 super-tower is too large for you, NZXT takes it down a notch and delivers the full-tower version with the Phantom 530.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 22, 2013 4:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: NZXT

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_32_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just so that you have a much better idea of what this chassis has to offer in the realm of cooling options, I went ahead and peeled all of the plastic components so we can see under and behind them. All of the I/O components stay with the chassis, and even without the bays in place, this chassis is very solid.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_33_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since we know what the front of the chassis looks like, and even with the DVD drive installed, with the door closed, nothing changes at all in appearance. I figured I would move in much closer so you can better appreciate the reset button and the naming indented into the plastic when molded.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_34_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Look at all the room in this thing. Even with the ATX build in place, a fairly large air cooler, and what is by today's standards an average-sized video card, I still have more than enough for up to four radiators inside of this chassis, and with the +1 drive in the back, you really don't need any drive bays, at least I don't.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_35_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There are no surprises to be found in the back of the chassis. The exhaust fan wiring is pretty tight from the factory, and makes the dust shield installation take a look first, but the card and PSU fit in like a glove.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_36_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray, you can see the SSD in next to the fan hub, and you can get really creative with the wiring. I would like to mention that the USB 3.0 and HD Audio cables are so long, they got wired across the top, down the right side, before they enter the main compartment to the right of the SSD.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_37_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Buttoned back up now, the Phantom 530 sits and awaits power. The window offers a good view of the interior, but the angle does cut off the view of the end of the video card. Other than that, I say we get some juice running through her and see what happens.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5607_38_nzxt_phantom_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With power added, there isn't anything that jumps right out at you. Even with the fan controller maxed out, there is very little noise coming from the chassis, in the range of 33 dB. There is a dim light strip on the left side of the chassis, where you put your hand to open the front door. These LEDs are white, and did not show up in the image much at all. You have to be looking almost dead straight at it to even see it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases