TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,181 News Posts

MSI GeForce GTX 770 Lightning 2GB Overclocked Video Card Review - The Card and Specifications

MSI GeForce GTX 770 Lightning 2GB Overclocked Video Card Review

The MSI Lightning video card series makes a return with the new NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770. Let's see just what it can do - we're expecting good things.

| NVIDIA GeForce GPU in Video Cards | Posted: Jul 19, 2013 4:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: MSI

The Card

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_08_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Taking our first look you can see that large Twin Frozr IV cooler with two 10cm fans sitting on top, as well as a massive heat sink underneath and a bunch of heat pipes coming out behind the shroud. Being a Lightning model also means we've got a black and yellow color scheme, which is of course different to the black and red theme, which we've been seeing from the new Gaming Series.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_09_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

While we don't normally bother looking at the back of video cards these days, the inclusion of the GPU Reactor on the Lightning series means that it's a bit more interesting. You can also see we've got a shroud over the entire back. This makes for a really great looking product that both looks and feels fantastic.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_10_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

Normally we see the V-Check points for MSI cards at the top, but you can see here that the three points are sitting at the back. These are used to measure the voltage of the GPU, Memory and PLL directly. This is one of those features that most people probably won't use as it's aimed for hardcore overclockers who use LN2 and need to keep track of the voltage levels in these key areas at all times.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_11_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_12_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

MSI has upgraded from the 6-pin and 8-pin PCIe power connector setup to a dual 8-pin PCIe power connector setup. Moving over to the front you can see two SLI connectors. Due to the large cooler, you can see how a normal SLI connector wouldn't work, so in the event you want to run two or three of these bad boys together, it's great knowing that a longer flexible SLI cable has been included in the bundle for you.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_13_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.jpg

 

When it comes to the I/O, it's very standard from a connection point of view. You can see we've got two Dual-Link DVI ports - one DVI-D the other DVI-I. Along with them we've got a HDMI and DisplayPort connector. The big stand out here, though, is the gold plated connectors - something that we've seen on Lightning cards for a while now.

 

 

Specifications

 

Like most companies, MSI has chosen to leave the 2GB of GDDR5 alone, you can see below it carries the default 7012MHz QDR clock. As for the core, though, MSI has given that a nice bump. That's moved from 1046MHz to 1150MHz. These clocks are then pushed even higher via boost with the reference card coming in at 1085MHz and the MSI one being boosted all the way up to 1202MHz.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5605_01_msi_geforce_gtx_770_lightning_2gb_overclocked_video_card_review.png

 

Of course Lightning cards are all about overclocking and that's exactly what we intend to do today. You can see we managed to push the core up to 1215MHz, which is boosted even higher to a strong 1267MHz via Boost. As for the 2GB of GDDR5, that came in at 7480MHz QDR.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Video Cards content at our Video Cards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases