TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,252 Reviews & Articles | 40,821 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Sony teases PlayStation 5 could be a cloud-based console

MSI Z87I (Intel Z87) ITX Motherboard Review - BIOS

MSI Z87I (Intel Z87) ITX Motherboard Review
Our second ITX based Intel Z87 motherboard arrives. This time it comes from the folks from MSI in the form of the Z87I. Let's check it out.
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 17, 2013 4:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: MSI

BIOS

 

Heading into the BIOS you can see we've got the new Click BIOS 4 setup. It's not too different to the previous versions of the Click BIOS we've seen before.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_13_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_14_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_15_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_14_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_15_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_16_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

If you're heading into the BIOS, you'll probably be in the OC section. While a small board, you can see above we've still got all the normal features you'd expect when it comes to overclocking. And because of that, we're hoping that we still manage to get some strong performance out of it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_17_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_18_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_19_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_20_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_21_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.png

 

Heading through the rest of the BIOS, you can see all the normal options, including the new Board Explorer, which is really cool. You can head over the highlighted areas of the board and see what components are installed. Above you can see on one of the SATA ports we've got a Corsair Force GT SSD drive plugged in.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases