TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,013 Reviews & Articles | 38,785 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

MSI Z87I (Intel Z87) ITX Motherboard Review - MSI Z87I Motherboard

MSI Z87I (Intel Z87) ITX Motherboard Review
Our second ITX based Intel Z87 motherboard arrives. This time it comes from the folks from MSI in the form of the Z87I. Let's check it out.
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 17, 2013 4:08 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: MSI

MSI Z87I Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_06_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Whenever it comes to ITX boards, it feels like we could just about work off this single picture above and cover everything. Let's move in a little closer, though, and cover everything in detail.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_07_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can see a single PCIe x16 slot. Of course being the only expansion slot, it will run your video card at x16 speed, due to the fact that the likes of SLI aren't an option here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_08_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving over to the memory slots, you can see we've just got the typical two DIMM slots present that support up to 16GB of DDR3 memory ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_09_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner again and looking across the top, you can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector. Next to that we've got a USB 3.0 header and a total of four SATA III ports that run of the Intel Z87 chip. You can also see to the left side we've got a mini PCIe wireless card - it's the Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 module with 2230BNHMW model number. This particular model supports Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n and Intel's Wireless Display technology.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_10_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading above the SATA ports you can see the main front panel connectors, which are split into two sections. You can also see the CPU power connector which is 4-pin, instead of the normal 8-pin option, which we see on larger boards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_11_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the CPU area you can see there's not a whole lot to look at thanks to the board of course being quite small. As hard as you think it may be to install some heat sinks, we didn't run into any issues. You can see we've got a small little heat sink to the left side, bolted down. With limited room, though, you can't get anything too crazy going on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5601_12_msi_z87i_intel_z87_itx_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing our look up at the motherboard you can see we've got two USB 2.0 ports, along with a combo PS2 port on the left. Next to this you can see two little grey buttons, the bottom one is for the clear CMOS, while the top one is the GO2BIOS button.

 

Next we've got a DisplayPort, HDMI and DVI-I port for video out options and above that we've got an optical out port to go with the six auxiliary ports, which run off the Realtek ALC892 audio codec. We can see four USB 3.0 ports and two gigabit networking ports to round things off - both LAN ports run off the Realtek 8111G controller.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases