TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,912 Reviews & Articles | 38,081 News Posts

Crucial M500 240GB SSD Review - Crucial M500 240GB SSD

Crucial M500 240GB SSD Review

We've seen the large 960GB M500 and the smaller 120GB drives. Today we look at the sweet spot for enthusiasts and power users, the 256GB class model. Sold with 240GB of user capacity, does the mid size model suffer from the same performance issues that plague the 120GB model or does this one take after big brother? (NASDAQ:MU)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 16, 2013 4:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 82%      Manufacturer: Crucial

Crucial M500 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_06_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial put together an attractive package for the M500.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_07_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The package contents are labeled on the back of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_08_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the top of the drive with the 7mm to 9.5mm adapter on top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_09_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial flips the label sides compared to every other manufacturer. The pretty label is on the bottom and the information label is on the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_10_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm form factor uses the same mounting points that the 9.5mm form factor uses.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_11_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also in the same location so you won't have an issue using this product in your notebook ultrabook or desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_12_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the inside of the drive. One of the first things you'll notice is the array of capacitors that works to flush the data in the buffer to the flash. This is important for host power fail protection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_13_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are 16 NAND packages on the 240GB M500, twice the amount found on the 120GB model, which we wrote about just a few days ago.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_14_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The same Marvell 88SS9187 controller was used throughout the M500 family.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_15_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

To this point everything sounds really good, twice that of the 120GB model, but Micron choose to use the same 256MB DRAM buffer for the 240GB, the same used on the 120GB model.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5600_16_crucial_m500_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The NAND packages are the same as the 120GB model, there's just twice the amount.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases