TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,202 Reviews & Articles | 40,046 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Samsung wants the US government to block GeForce GPU shipments

LaCie 5big NAS Pro Review - LaCie 5big NAS Pro

LaCie 5big NAS Pro Review
Today LaCie gives existing customers a 25% write performance increase and those looking for a quality NAS something to think about. New software features round out the updated NAS 3.0 software, but the 5big stood on solid ground before it.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Jul 12, 2013 7:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: LaCie

LaCie 5big NAS Pro

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_12_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first good look at the LaCie 5big NAS Pro. LaCie has a couple of different models that look identical from three of the four sides. The blue sphere in the middle lights up a nice blue color when the unit is on. If the NAS has a problem or when you are formatting an array, the blue sphere softly changes between blue and red.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_13_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_14_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

Both of the sides are identical, solid and silver.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_15_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

For the most part we're concerned with the back of the unit since this is where all of the tech goodness is at.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_16_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

All of the connections are along the bottom of the 5big NAS Pro.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_17_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

The HDD bays lock into play but this is mainly so they don't call out during transport. Any penny or finger nail can unlock the door.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_18_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

The NAS circulates air from the bottom of the NAS to the top and it escapes through these vents. LaCie uses a Noctua fan, one of my personal favorites in the system. Noctua is the leader in quiet fan design, you can't hear the fan at all even when very close to the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_19_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

Since the air flows in through the bottom, it's important to keep your 5big off of carpet and to dust under the NAS regularly.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_20_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

We always look for good NAS isolation because you don't want vibration from the HDDs to rattle a desk or file cabinet. The theory goes the other way as well, vibration isn't good for HDDs when spinning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_21_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

Our unit shipped with five 2TB Seagate HDDs. The drives are numbered and stickers cover the screws for warranty purposes.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases