TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,780 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

LaCie 5big NAS Pro Review - Packaging

LaCie 5big NAS Pro Review
Today LaCie gives existing customers a 25% write performance increase and those looking for a quality NAS something to think about. New software features round out the updated NAS 3.0 software, but the 5big stood on solid ground before it.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Jul 12, 2013 7:15 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: LaCie

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_05_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

The LaCie 5big NAS Pro design came from Neil Poulton. That doesn't mean much to me and I have doubts that is means much to anyone spending $500 to $1400 on a NAS appliance. A Google search revealed several interesting product designs, nothing Pininfarina, but we all have our favorites.

 

The 5big NAS Pro package follows the same theme as the NAS. It's simple on the outside and full of good stuff on the inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_06_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_07_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_08_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_09_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

The inner packaging keeps the main unit secure and all of the accessories are kept away as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_10_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

The accessory package includes a paper quick install guide, warranty terms paper, software disk, a three month trial to Wuala Business and some plastic accessory bits.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5597_11_lacie_5big_nas_pro_review.jpg

 

The unit gets power from a power brick seen here on the left. LaCie also includes a nice shielded Ethernet cable.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases