TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,095 Reviews & Articles | 39,128 News Posts

Crucial M500 120GB SSD Review - Crucial M500 120GB SSD

Crucial M500 120GB SSD Review
With all of the capacity sizes in hand, we're finally ready to take a closer look at the Crucial M500 products. We start things off with the 120GB model, the smallest capacity size in the new SSD series. (NASDAQ:MU)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jul 12, 2013 1:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 81%Manufacturer: Crucial

Crucial M500 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_06_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial put together an attractive package for the M500, but as you'll soon see, the accessory kit is a bit light.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_07_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

A list of package contents appears on the back. You get the SSD and a 7mm to 9.5mm adapter.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_08_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The plastic adapter fills in the gap when mounting the 7mm drive in a drive cage designed for 9.5mm z-height drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_09_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The model number CT120M500SSD1 and serial number are located on the identification sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_10_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial flips their stickers on opposite sides compared to what we find on other products.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_11_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

As mentioned, this is a 7mm z-height drive. The mounting points are in the same position as a standard notebook 9.5mm form factor.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_12_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SATA power and data connectors are also located in the same position as typical notebook drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_13_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the internals. The first thing you may notice is the array of surface mount capacitors. Crucial claims these provide enough power to flush the data in route to the flash in a host power loss event. At the time of writing, we didn't have a way to test this feature, but in the coming weeks we'll have this capability.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_14_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are a few surface mount components on the back of the PCB, but all of the major components are located on the other side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_15_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

Crucial once again choose a Marvel controller, the 88SS9287.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_16_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

This capacity size only has one DRAM buffer for caching page table data.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5593_17_crucial_m500_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Crucial uses 20nm Micron NAND flash.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases