TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,114 News Posts

ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard

ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review

We get a chance to check out our first Z87 ROG based ASUS motherboard in the form of the new better priced MAXIMUS VI HERO. (TPE:2357)

| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jul 11, 2013 9:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: ASUS

ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_08_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Taking our first look at the board, it's very typical ROG with a strong black and red color scheme. Everything looks pretty good and you can see the normal array of buttons and switches across the board, which we'll take a closer look at in the coming images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_09_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving to the expansion slots, you can see we've got three PCIe x1 slots, along with three PCIe x16 slots. With one video card in the first slot, it will run at x16. If you go down the path of CrossFire or SLI then both slots will run at x8. The final slot supports up to x4.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_10_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across to the bottom you can see it's a pretty clean setup. Thanks to the way the SurpremeFX audio chip is cut off, we see that the left corner of the board is now quite empty. Moving across, though, you can see the typical headers including USB 2.0, fans and main front panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_11_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of eight SATA III ports. The six on the right side run off the Intel Z87 controller, while the two on the left run off the ASMedia ASM1061 controller. We wish that ASUS chose to color the ASMedia ones separately. Figuring out which ports are which, though, is just a quick look in the manual away.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_12_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading towards the top of the motherboard we can see the typical four DIMM slots present which support up to 32GB of DDR3 with speeds ranging from 1333MHz DDR to 2800MHz DDR via overclocking. Below that and slightly to the left, you can see we've got the main 24-pin ATX power connector, along with a USB 3.0 header. On the top right corner you can see the LED debug meter and the MemOK! button and a power and reset button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_13_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_14_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading over to the CPU area you can see it's a pretty standard affair. Towards the top of the board you can see we've got the 8-pin CPU power connector and moving back you can see we've got a very clean setup. The heatsink quality as usual like all ROG boards is good and you can see the heat pipe between the two heatsinks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5591_15_asus_maximus_vi_hero_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finishing up with the I/O, you can see we've got a combo PS/2 port, along with four USB 2.0 ports. Between these you can see our BIOS Flashback button. Moving across you can see the only video out comes in the form of a HDMI port and above that you can see we've got an optical port which goes along with our six auxiliary ports that run off the SurpremeFX High Definition codec. Along with that you can see we've got four USB 3.0 ports and gigabit networking coming off the Intel I217V chipset.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases